Sailing the seven seas.

in #sailing8 years ago (edited)

So far I have lived 1 year of my life in house, and I don't remember much of it. The rest of my 19 years I spent living onboard ships & yachts. The Ocean is my playground and the boat I'm on my home. The ocean is an incredible place. Rough and treacherous at times, but also has an unspoiled natural beauty that is sometimes just beyond comprehension.


There is times when I just sit on deck for hours and watch the ocean and sky around me, it never gets boring. And here are a few picture's to show you why :)

The night sky is amazing due to no light pollution, most nights many stars and even the milky way can be seen. But personally I think the sunrises and sunset out there are by far the most breathtaking. 


300nm South of Vanuatu

200nm North of New Zealand

South Pacific Ocean

San Blas Islands  

On our way to Tahiti, 4 days out. 

Indian Ocean

It's not just amazing night skies and sunsets tho..I'm always amazed to find people heading out to sea expecting to be sunbathing, eating well, having diner on deck with a glass of wine while watching the sunset. This happens, but only about 1% of the time. All the rest of the time you are holding your plate of food, trying to eat it without being launched trough the boat, this is a trick one has to learn.  After flying trough the boat a few times and landing in the very pasta you just wanted to eat the learning procedures go fast ;)

Rainy and foggy days..

Wave coming to give us a wet good morning kiss. Things can get a little bumpy! & wet..

Somethings coming.. and it's not looking friendly.

Thick rainclouds of the coast of Durban SA.  There is many big ships in these waters, undoubtedly more hiding in that raincloud..

This Picture is made in the middle of the night, the flashes of lightning would come out of nowhere and were so bright they would lighten up the entire horizon. The thunder claps where absolutely horrifying. 

Shadows in the sea.

No wind and Sea life right between the South pacific Islands and New Zealand. 


I hope you enjoyed these few picture's I took while out at sea, and see why it is such an amazing place :) 

Sort:  

Thanks for the magnificent photos and reflections on a life at sea! Please share more as the tides allow. :)

Really cool post, take me with you!

Thanks for the nice reply's, will post some more when internet speed and time allows :)

Ahoy! So cool to see more of the sailors and their stories on Steemit!
Ship in the ocean - it is the purest freedom, which is available now in this world on the one hand, and on the other - it is an anchor, as a sailor attached to his ship.

AHOY THERE !! what a great post filled with some breathtaking photos !! Good to see some real salts in here and getting the job done ! Be seeing you i hope !! ; - )

You definitely sold the boat life to me! The pictures are breathtaking.

The photos of the sunrise are just amazing. I was once on a boat but I was sick all the time, even though I have took some nausea pills. You have amazing life!

Congratulations @flyingfish! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60700.74
ETH 2389.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64