My dream to quit my job and sail to the Carribean!

in #sailing6 years ago

Tarka_forHomepage.jpg
Growing up as a kid I have always loved sailing small sailboats such as sunfishes and hobie cats on the river I grew up on. A few years back I discovered the Youtube channel SV Delos that introduced my to the cruising lifestyle. I once believed that only very Wealthy people could sail around the world but after researching the topic I found out that it can be done fairly affordably.

My plan is to quit my job when my lease ends in August. I would then sell some of my crypto to buy a boat, something around 30ft. Then I would take the ICW down to Florida, then cross over to the Bahamas and into the Virgin Islands. After that I would either sail home or never turn back! My crypto stash would be enough to support my travels for a good amount of time but would not last if I made crusisng a pertinent lifestyle. That's where the the problem of income arises.

One of my new years resolutions is to learn a programming language. I just ordered a book on Python and am currently take a course on codecademy as well. Learning to code to possibly lead me to working remotely. I would also like to see success from my YouTube channel for a little bit of income and make videos of my sailing adventures.

I am really tired of the same thing everyday and the rules or guidelines that society places on us. I want to say screw it all and sail away! Life is short right? But maybe its just the seasonal depression talking...

Sort:  

Loved your story of sailing the boats :) I hope you will achieve your dreams one day. :)

Hope your dream will become reallity and maybe we meet someday out on the ocean or at a nice anchor spot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93