Greetings from the Algarve from a lost Englishman

in #sailing8 years ago

Be gentle with me kind reader, I am new to steemit.
Living in the Algarve, Portugal is the latest part of a longer story.
We came here from the UK. There we were living in a caravan in Derbyshire. We'd spent most of the winter there buried in snow and it was crap. living next to a pub, eased the pain a little but it was still crap. England is expensive.
So why a caravan in England?
Prior to moving to England we were living on a sailboat working our way down the east coast of the States. We were aboard our cheap and old westerly centaur called "Mystic" and were heading for the Bahamas.
It didn't go as planned. I got a call to go back to England to look after my mother, dying of pancreatic cancer. So, as a good son I did as requested and nursed my mum through her last couple of months. It was soul destroying.
Jan eventually flew over to join me just after mum died and with nowhere to live we took the caravan option.
So why the boat?
Well, that wasn't the original plan. I had flown over to the States from England to be with Jan and together we lived in a run down old shack in the wild of West Virginia.
It was a massive culture shock for me, but I grew to love it. We were surrounded by mountains and forest full with wild animals and wilder hillbilly neighbours that would rob us every time we left the house for a length of time.
I got tired of it and tired of trying to navigate the pathetic immigration system there so thought if we were going to leave, we would do it under sail.
It didn't go to plan obviously but adventures we had plenty of.
Now in the Algarve, we work as ghostwriters for a client and trying to get our own stuff off the ground.
it's a slow process. The writing is the easiest part. Marketing is the hardest.
We will get there and I will try to fill in the gaps of the story on here eventually.

Sort:  

That sounds like a big story! We were having some adventures during our sailing trip as well (we're still living on a boat actually). There's a sailors chat on steemit if you're interested in it,⛵️

I would be back on the boat tomorrow if I could. Sadly, my other half has other ideas. But I'll get there again one day.
Yes I shall look for the sailing chat. Still struggling to make sense of steemit at the mo lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58471.44
ETH 2587.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44