You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: It's getting serious, guys!

in #sailing6 years ago

Hi tobixen,

thanks for sharing your experience. I think this might be the toughest thing on a sailing trip when sailing single-handed. Did you had any training before or did you adjust easily to the new sleeping pattern?

A steel boat is a big radar reflector, so it might sail save even without a radar on itself. Corrosion is a big pain point I have. I don't know how the boat looks like inside in every corner and I do not know a solution to be safe on that...

Do you have a boat? Would you prefer steel over pvc or the other way around?

Sort:  

Did you had any training before or did you adjust easily to the new sleeping pattern?

I do have night shifts with on-call duty every now and then at work, it's a bit of the same. Sleep, but if there is any alarms or telephone calls from customers, I have to jump up, be alert and solve problems. It's not so much different when sailing in the night time.

My boat is made from wood and epoxy, my previous boats were made of glass fibre and polyester. I wouldn't choose steel for the very simple reason that I'm not competent on steel. Well, to be honest, I'm not that much competent on wood nor glass fiber ... but at least I can do some work with it.

I see, so maybe it's not as hard as I imagine. Anyways it will be hard to adjust to if you are not used to it.

Oh cool! I've seen it on some of your posts. It' s looking great! Okay I got you, and I am completely with you on that. I think the most important thing with a boat is to be able to handle some things on your own when they break. Unless I am not a mechanic nor an ingenieur nor a hobby craftsman I need something simple.
Next week I am going to check out the steel boat again. I will take some pictures too and post them here on steem.

Hopefully I find someone with a Wibo 930 to ask about the common issues he has with this model.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56784.71
ETH 2392.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27