You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 7 years 7 seas - The boat

in #sailing7 years ago

Well there are the weight of the 18650 cells I am building my battery packs out of have a much higher power to weight ratio of what you are talking about and I am 3d printing my own electric wind generators so that cost is almost null. The boat for the great loop is a smaller cat that is going to have solar all down the top so I can have plenty of power. The cost of solar has dropped per watt and I only need about 4kw of power on a surface that works as a roof for the boat.

This boat and his build is part of the inspiration for the project.

4k of solar I can get for a little over $3200 now I may get more solar and run a bigger motor with the surface space of the boat I am going to build I can run 10kw of solar that I can get for about $0.50 per watt. So I am going to have no issue having enough power.

My friend down in Panama built this boat him self as a working boat for his island to run to town for supplies.

It is an art project to me so I am in for a challenge. I have no expectations only having fun looking at what is possible when one decides to become there own expert and build for themselves. I know one can spend money and hire experts and all of that but then again people built boats out of trees and sailed the world with no fancy stuff. That being said we have a cnc router to cut the wood for the boat. I am also building plastic recycling machines to be able to injection mold parts I want for the boat. I have plans for a fully recycled material boat but that is a subject for a different time. Cheers.
Sort:  

It's challenging but it might work. With enough space for solar, wind generator and sea gen power will be produced almost the whole day long. I guess you need lithium batteries for this purpose. Still expensive but costs are going down as well. Due to space issues on our monohull i have a small 300 Ah Lithium. So far it works really great.

@bavarian59 I can build my own packs for around $1.50 per cell and the prices keep falling on the tech. I am also building a powerwall and putting solar on my mom's house. There is no difference from running a house or running a boat. I know I have to look at the power to weight and how much I can float. There was a guy that built a wave powered boat and sailed it from Japan to Hawaii

So if you make a combination of these you can have more power to move than you will need. I like to do things differently than the herd. So thinking outside of the normal is more fun. I have not even touched on my Allowistic islands built out of recycled material that are floating self sustaining islands of abundance. More on that later.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60497.39
ETH 2637.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56