Sailing Naked: Part 1

in #sailing6 years ago

IMG_2247.JPG

It is a truism in life that the more skilled you become at something the simpler the kit you require. I remember as a child a "Master Carpenter" was due to turn up at a house my family was rebuilding. I was a child at the time and I expected some kind of woodworking hero to turn up, armed with an array of fancy and exotic tools. Instead an old man turned up with a dodgy looking leather bag. Inside this bag were just a few tools - a gnarly looking handsaw, a chisel, a hammer, a self turning screwdriver, a plane and pencil. That was all he needed. I was confused at first but I watched this auld bugger work his way round the building, look a things, swear and demand a cup of tea.

His first job was to fit an angled support that joined two roof beams together. He needed to make a complex shape consisting of an asymmetrical 'V' at one end and a kind of pointed romboid at the other. He took a piece of 4x2, looked at the joint, swore, propped the wood on his knee and made a cut with his gnarly handsaw. Similarly he looked at the other end and repeated this miraculous act. It fitted like a glove - first time, no tape measure, no angle mitre, no electricity, not even the pencil (which he kept behind his ear). He spent the entire day repeating this miracle work, creating the perfect from nothing. At the end of the day he thanked us for at least being interesting and left.

I have come across this exact type of thing so many times and each time I re-learn a lesson, simply put: you cannot buy skill. So, it is with this thought in mind I started looking at the way I sail. When I sailed to Norway, across the North Sea, a couple of years ago we counted something like 9 GPS receivers on the boat. There were 4 mobile phones, a radio fitted GPS, a laptop GPS, an AIS GPS, an EPIRB and finally a chartplotter one. The chartplotter knew where we were, knew where we were planning to go and told us if we were off track. We had a depth sounder, a radar and some of us had Navionics installed on our mobiles. Basically, we knew where we were!

However it is possible to sail without all that hardware and if you find yourself in the company of a salty old sea dog, you will probably find that he does not really care for it all. The advent of GPS is a relatively recent addition to the toolkit but it should by no means be the only thing you rely on. If you are coastal sailing then all you need is charts and a compass. If you are blue water sailing then replace the compass with a sextant. Yes, I know I am over simplifying things but if you boil it all down to its essence then I think you will be hard pressed to argue with me - after all we sailed all over the globe in the past and we did not even have the benefits of a chart.

I am reminded of an old TV sketch where a Walter Raleigh type character promises to sail off and find a new continent, the head minister hands him a scroll of paper, announcing "This is the latest from our best cartographers!", our hero replies "Uhm, it's blank!", "Yes", the minister replies, "they were wondering if you could fill it in as you go along..."

So, periodically I switch things off and return to basics, it passes the time and sharpens the brain somewhat. You actually have to take an interest in coastal objects and understand them, you actually have to think about your set and drift. The occulting nature of a light takes on new significance. I think the result is a more rewarding journey.

I do sail with the electronics on most of the time, if I am honest, but I do appreciate what it is doing more and I feel somewhat reassured that if it all goes horribly wrong I can go back to first principles - and there is the reward, it is even more enjoyable for having that bit of knowledge.

@knot

Sort:  

Great article! I need to learn how to use a sextant before our voyage from the US back to Australia starts in September - do you have any resources or book recommendations to help me learn!?

Thanks for the inspiration to remember to get back to basics on our trip, it's the truly enjoyable part of sailing - leaving the world behind and becoming a part of it instead!

Thank you! Yes, I have quite a bit of information to share on sextant use. I purchased a Davis Mark 15 on eBay, perfectly good for my purposes. There are lots of guides on how to configure a plastic sextant. I bought https://www.amazon.co.uk/Long-Term-Almanac-2000-2050-Reduction/dp/0914025104/ref=sr_1_fkmr0_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1520894883&sr=1-1-fkmr0&keywords=long+term+almanac mosly because I am tight :) All that is involved is a couple of additional calculations. To learn how to use it I found these video help a lot after that, practice makes perfect!

Really interesting read, thank you! I'm an artist and love buying new kit - pens, paper, paint - but I suppose that's more about liking variety and choice than thinking it will improve my skill. I mostly do line art, and only started it a couple of years ago, and one of the main lessons I learned is that it doesn't matter which pen you use. When I post pictures of my artwork to instagram, if they include the pen in any way, someone will always ask what pen it is - there's this general assumption that the clean lines come from the pen and not the hand and people think 'if I get that pen, my drawing will be that good'. Which is rubbish, really. Buying an expensive Rotring won't do much for you if you haven't put in hours of practice already.

I suppose with something like sailing, where your life is potentially on the line, it helps to turn everything off and hone your basic skill on occasion - and then compliment that improved skill with the use of tech. :)

Yes exactly - the parallels are everywhere. Me on my drawing board with the very best in Rotring Rapide pens versus a proper artist with a standard HB pencil - the artist will win every time. I have a friend that does oil paintings in the field (a hard core traditional artist) and I can tell you that in Scotland it can be life threatening when it gets very cold :) We all suffer for our art in one way or another.

You make me want to learn to sail. It doesn't help that the nearest coast is about seven hours away. Maybe when we get to Scotland.

Please make sure that you tell me when you come over, I would be delighted to show you my part of the world and take you for a spin in a boat or two.

We would love that. It will be a few years yet, but we do plan to get there. The same goes for if you ever get to British Columbia.

Upvoted on behalf of @thehumanbot and it's allies for writing this great original content. Do not use bid bots for at least 1-2 days, as your post may get picked up by top curators.
Great Original Works are rewarded by top Curators.If you like this initiative, you can follow me in SteemAuto and upvote the posts, that I upvote.
And remember to do some charity when you are rich by contributing to me.If you have any concerns or feedback with my way of operation, raise it with @sanmi , my operator who is freaking in Steemit chat or discord most of the time.

Thank you for the upvote. I never use bots, it feels wrong somehow. For me original content is the whole reason STEEM exists and I applaud your motives.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66361.53
ETH 3253.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.43