I HAVE A DREAM: SAIL ALL AROUND THE WORLD OR HOW CAN STEEMIT CHANGE MY LIFE

in #sail8 years ago

PART1: INTRODUCTION

Hello to you all...

I feel really weird writing this for many reasons... 1st the language, cause I'm not native English, I'm from Barcelona, in Spain. But I mainly feel weird because I’m about to commit to an online community, to a social media site, and his is really something I wouldn’t have expected at all only a couple of weeks ago... never participated in any kind of social media platform, virtually never commented any article on websites or blogs (except those who allow anonymous comments) and all my online participations have been basically in some forums of my interest. The reason: Privacy. I never liked the idea of giving all the rights of what one posts to the website owner/s.

Today is a remarkable day in my life because I’m not only going to write my life here, but also I will do it on the steem blockchain, which means every single word I write here now will last as far as the network keeps running. Even if I edit my content, that will only be an update of it, the original words will remain forever on the blockchain. Crazy right?!

I hope you all understand the importance of the present moment and enjoy my history.

So where to start...? First, let me introduce myself, my name is Alex, born in Barcelona as I said, and I’m 30 years old. Have been living in a couple relationship for the last 9 years, we broke up about two months ago, now I live with a female dog, her name is Cala (see picture below) in a 25 square meter loft which used to be a clothing store.

Cala
Cala: In my country we call Cala to those especially beautiful small bays on the coast. The name was inspired by her beauty and my love for the sea.

I don’t watch news or TV of any kind, don’t want those things in my brain, they confuse one and makes him forget why we all came here which is, from my point of view, experiment and express love and thrive. And this is not easy in the present times, even more if we keep watching the TV that's telling us to hate this group, or this team or this other. That TV that tries to tell us who are our enemies, that TV and that society that invests tremendous efforts in making us believe in difference, in separation, in what’s correct and incorrect... well don’t want to bore you with my own propaganda anymore!

So I heard about Steemit about a week ago... my brain was shocked by such an innovative idea and was trying to figure out how to be part of it and i came to the crappy idea that gave name to my profile... I would have already opened a new account here under a decent name if I could, but for now I will publish under this crappy name until I can create a new account. It was two days ago when I was watching a video here in steemit, a video from Crypt0, and he was talking about the opportunities he had right in front of him, and there I saw a guy chasing his dreams, and that inspired me to do the same. Even if this thing does well or not... just want to leave a big thank you here to Crypt0.

So my dream.... my dream is to sail... is to live aboard in my own sailboat... is to travel all around the world... is to feel the contact with nature, with the wind, the sun and the sea... is to meet new people from other countries... is to see how what is wrong in my country is ok in other countries while what’s ok in those countries is wrong in mine... is to experiment solitude in days and days of sailing alone... is to reflect and think about what this all means... is to feel alive...

And.... where does this come from?? I can’t tell you for sure but i have basically 2 hypothesis:

  1. This was in my DNA from the beginning. When i was about 7 years old my family moved from the apartment to a new house, so I and my two sisters had to choose the furniture of our rooms. What did I say? I want my room as if it were a boat cabin! Why did i say so? I have no clue. I can’t remember that I did feel a huge attraction by the sea, or the boats, at least in a conscious level at that time... but the fact is that I had my room as if it were a boat cabin. The wardrobes were as in a boat, the lights were as boat steering wheels, nautical knots box as decoration, and of course nautical bed sheet... I hope I can find a picture of how it was and share it with you, let me know in comments if you want it and I’ll look for it!
  2. This sailing drug was inoculated lately... when I was 15 or 16 years old and went to a two week sailing with a friend and his daddy's boat. That’s a story that deserves a post for itself, let me know if you want to hear about it. I’m only going to say that we left from Barcelona, took a 25-30 hours sailing route to Balearic islands, spent about 13 days traveling around one of the islands, sleeping almost every day in a different bay, and when we were coming back and about to arrive to our starting port the dad of my friend asked me... well, how has this vacation been...? I remember I didn’t even look at him, I kept watching the port that was going to mark the end of the vacation and I responded: the best of my life... in that moment something in my brain changed forever... and from that day, I know in a conscious level, that that's how I want to live my life. Sailing.

There's a lot of stuff I want to talk about to you, how did I get to get the licenses i need to sail, the short navigations I have taken part in, the day I did rent a 26ft sailboat by my own with my girlfriend at that time, the 25ft catamaran i was about to purchase or the 24ft sailboat i recently tried to acquire in an auction... there's many stories I can talk you about if you show interest, but let's just leave it here and see if you guys like and want more...

That is basically what I am offering you, to be part of my adventure, I want to share it all with you, the stories of the past and the stories that are about to come... the purchase of a boat, the refit or whatever repairs it needs, the first sensations of travelling and living aboard... I’m amazingly excited about how far we will go!

Our Journey

Looking forward to answer your comments!

See you soon!

SailSteem

Sort:  

I'm with you - hopefully will be sailing the world within a couple of years. It's amazing how many people actually do it and love it.

Thanks for the support! Im sure we will be!
By the way I already created my new account: @sailsteem, hopefully tomorrow I am moving this post there and creating a new one explaining a short navigation I did last week, I will be so glad having you as the first follower :-)
Theres many people enjoying this lifestyle, there will be many experiences to share!
Thanks for the comment!

let me know when you post something there (just went can't follow yet..) then I will 'follow'.

Go for it. I am now pushing 70 and often dreamed of sailing the world. Had several small boats and several broken relationships to diverted me, fell into the corporate rat race and now drive a desk in a small condo in the third world. Just watching s/v delos and la Vagabonde. One of the reason I did chose to go sailing was it seemed a very lonely solo male diversion but now with wifi, gopros and drones, it is more open to all. Technology and economics and hardly worth hanging around for. Go Go Go

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59986.17
ETH 2417.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45