#ulog9:GROWING PUMPKIN FROM MY FARM

in #ryptocurrency6 years ago

MYXJ_20180721143723_fast.jpg
MYXJ_20180721144411_fast.jpg
In Nigeria the most common vegetable eaten in most homes is the fluted pumpkin, porpularly known as ugu (ugwu) as pronounced in Ibo language.

I planted ugu because the cost in the market sometimes can be crazy when not in season. So to have it available all year round, had to plant a commercial quantity covering just a little portion of my farm.

Some of the ugu in the markets are contaminated as I found out some farmers use certain chemicals in the planting which is detrimental to health. All because they want to make profits. It is sad what people do for money. Killing their fellow man slowly.

Fluted pumpkin grows better during the rainy season, and as at when I planted the rains were not much. But now it has started flourishing and I made my first cutting or prunning.

MYXJ_20180721150706_fast.jpg
MYXJ_20180721144026_fast.jpg
This cutring will enable it sprout more branchs and increase its growth and productivity. The first set of organic manure was added and hopefully next month I will have my second cutting which I am hoping will be bigger than the first.

MYXJ_20180721144242_fast.jpg

The good news is that I got 1 bag full of ugu, sold some to friends and neighbours around my compound. It looked so fresh and green that it took only 4 ladies to purchase it all. So exciting!

I will have to inform them when next we are making the next cutting as the demand increased because some persons didn't get to buy.
MYXJ_20180721144144_fast.jpg
MYXJ_20180721150556_fast.jpg
This is another source of income for me and my family. This cutting was done by a paid labourer.

I'm glad I went into it.
@udysam
@udokon
My dream to feed my nation has started, One crop at a time.
All in One Last Line 1 (3).gif

Sort:  

We @farms wish you success in your farm, thanks for sharing this post with @farms

Resteemed

(to be a part of this community; ensure to always use #farms and #steemchurch for agricultural related post)

SteemChurch Farm ( @FARMS)

My father took me into the city to see a marching band.

It is very good to have a farm were you can feed your family

It is very good
To have a farm were you can
Feed your family

                 - udokon


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Well, that seems kinda weird, how do you do that?

Thanks sir

This user is on the @buildawhale blacklist for one or more of the following reasons:

  • Spam
  • Plagiarism
  • Scam or Fraud

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by udy from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Good farming ! keep up the good work

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44