PINK VELVET CAKE

in #rwqjriwoqrjjwed4 years ago

THIS CANDY HEART STUDDED PINK VELVET CAKE IS THE PERFECT WAY TO CELEBRATE VALENTINE’S DAY WITH THE ONE YOU LOVE!

This Pink Velvet Cake was 100% unplanned. It all started when I was in Michaels looking for Valentine’s Day props for another post (coming soon) and I spotted them. The CUTEST pink ombre candy hearts I had ever seen. I had to have them. Four packs of them, apparently. They were on clearance for some reason, and I worried they’d be discontinued, so I grabbed a bunch in case I want to use them again next year or something.

My first plan was just to cover the entire side of the cake with them in an ombre fashion. My inspo for that was from this Mini Egg Cake. Adorable, right? So simple, yet so pretty!

I worried it might be a bit much though, since the hearts are much smaller than the eggs, and I’d easily go through all 4 packs if I did it that way. So I started brainstorming other ideas and laying the hearts out in different patterns on my kitchen counter.

I finally settled on a random, crazy pile of hearts that looked like they were raining down and getting darker as they hit the bottom. I’m actually surprised at how well it turned out.

I planned to do this kinda thing before with my Froot Loops Cake and it was a total fail when I was making, so I went with something simpler there. But on this one, the hearts worked! Yay! I was going to leave the top plain, but I decided it needed some kinda rosettes or dollops on top, and while I was rifling through one of my baking drawers, I spotted another Valentine’s Day prop/accessory that I’d totally forgotten about (this happens way too often).

I had bought some heart-themed washi tape to make little flags. I’d learned about this technique from Lindsay over at Coco Cake Land. I loved the little cake flags she showed off on her cake, so I bought the tape. I had no idea where I intended to use that either, but I thought it would be better to have it than not, right? I couldn’t find any wider Valentine themed tape (at least not pretty ones), so I bought a 5 pack of thinner ones. I think they worked ok, but I’ll definitely try to find wider washi tape next time.

It’s not often that the exterior design of a cake dictates the inside, at least not for me. Usually I come up with a flavour combination I think would be good, and then stress about the decorating on the day of. This time though, I had to figure out what would be inside this Valentine’s day themed cake.

information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information
information

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67863.38
ETH 3708.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65