BEHIND MY CITY A STORY TO TELL.

in #rwanda6 years ago (edited)

All we like to travel in clean and beautiful cities with sky limit buildings, but no one there wants to talk the old cities of 90's when technology has not reached all the city.
These are the areas we call slums or suburbs where life is easy, less infrastructures, dense populated, no water and frequent electricity, high prostitution rate and HIV/AIDS survivors, but these are the ones I call the citizens. The place where you get the news of the city with out surfing or watching TV's or listening to the radios.

It looks a shaming if you are from these areas but it's where my city began from. I am travelling between the hoods of tycoons, paved roads, with colorful lights and tall buildings with five star hotels, but in the evening I go to sleep in the flooded, noisy, alcoholic area where my supper plate is less a half dollar and I get satisfied.

I am not ashamed of this I am ashamed of those who lough at me but don't recognize that it's where the successful city began. Every thing is cheap and affordable to all.

Development is good and my dream is to live in the upper room of light year tall building but I won't forget those living behind the city. I am calling this area behind the city because the city extended sideways and we remained behind with older electric system that causes severe accidents, but all in all I appreciate my city.

Down is a comparable new and old cities of East African countries where I tried to travel from January to August of this year.
I tried to take photos copyrighted to my blog https://sinananewsrwanda.blogspot.com/

  • KIGALI - RWANDA

KIGALI.png
The city of Kigali view
bannyahe.jpg
Less than 1KM where the above photo was taken from.

  • KAMPALA - UGANDA.

kampala.jpg
Kampala is one of the most dense populated cities in Africa.
kampala slum.jpg
The slums are also found there.

DAR - ES - SALAAM - TANZANIA.

dar es salaam.jpg
The former capital of Tanzania.
dar es salaam slum.jpg
The slums of Salaam.

  • MOMBASA - KENYA.

mombasa.jpg
Mombasa where most of the East African exports and imports land before.

mombasa slum.jpg
This is how the old city looks like.

  • NAIROBI - KENYA.

nairobi.jpg
Nairobi is the capital of East Africa.

kibera nairobi.jpg
Kibera - Nairobi is dense populated.

Not only these cities you can also compare your cities how they look like and compare them to the behind left cities, then you will have a story to tell.

Thank you for your attention this is @jackarphillip.

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Never lose sight of your dreams.

Namaste, JaiChai

I committed and I will keep stepping forward

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62827.81
ETH 2583.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73