Why having a house is not for us!

in #rv7 years ago

For the last few weeks, we have lived in a nice house, with a nice yard, in a nice area, of a nice town but we don't like it! We really miss the simplicity of living in our RV.
We are back in my hometown, Skellefteå in northern Sweden, for the summer. In the spring we put out a question on facebook if there was anyone that was going on vacation during the summer and if we could live in, and take care of, their house. We got several offers and managed to arrange housing for the whole summer. For the first part of the summer we stayed in a couple of different apartments but now, for the last few weeks and for another two weeks we are in this great house.

20170728_Plangatan2_v1.JPG

For the first time since our kids were born, they have their own room. We have a nice large living room with a piano for me to play on. There is laundry in the basement and a sauna we've enjoyed a couple of times. All is great! But we are struggling anyway. There is a lot of space which is nice, until it has to be cleaned. Cleaning our RV takes about 5-10 minutes.

Yesterday we spent the first half of the day cleaning and taking care of the yard!
20170727_111957.jpg

While my wife was doing most of the inside cleaning I cut the grass.
20170727_101328.jpg

Most of my friends live in houses and I'm sure they are happy with their choice, most of the time. It is not uncommon that I hear someone say things like "No, I can't. I have to cut the grass", or "No, I'm busy this weekend, we're repainting". I rarely hear excitement in statements like that. Having a house takes a lot of time. There are always things that need to get done, maintenance and upkeep, cleaning and fixing. Some really enjoy doing things like these around a house. Others do them because they have to get done.
We don't like it and that was a part of our decision to go mobile and not own a house. When we are in our RV we just move if the grass gets too long. The RV does need some maintenance but requires much less time than a house with a big yard. Right now we miss the freedom and simplicity of our tiny house on wheels.

A big thank you to our friends for letting us stay in their house. And also for reminding us why we don't want a house of our own.

Sort:  

Wow. Talk about like minded. I owned a 5 bedroom house with a swimming pool to quickly achieve the American dream at age 22. It all but ruined my life for the next 10 years. I still traveled and had it rented as the damn thing was under water about 8 of those years. But now I can fit all my possessions in my backpack. You remember me, I wrote the third world steemit post! lol Up-voted and following. You rock!

I don't know how I missed this comment! My wife is writing on our other blog lindstromsontheroad.com about our experience staying in a house this summer and wanted the pictures from this post and I just noticed your comment here. This must have been one of the first comments you made on my posts. And now after a month or so of following and reading I agree fully - we do seem like minded in a lot of ways.

Haha. Yeah, I do remember writing that regarding the up-keep of that home. I've had a couple good comments slip by me accidentally. All good!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62837.64
ETH 2542.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65