If click bait had a love child with Satan it would look like this...

shocked2.jpg

The other day I was trying to think of a creative way to come up with a decent headline and entertaining story. Something funny, or extreme, or shocking enough that I couldn’t resist reading it.

Like those evil, attention stealing click bait ads that even the most disciplined minds can’t ignore.

What I got was something totally unexpected and extremely satisfying.

Here’s what happened...

I had this idea to come up with a headline first, then a story based on the headline that would somehow tie into a solution for a common problem. Nothing fancy. Just write and see how it unfolds.

So I took a stroll down a dark Google alley and scored some click bait headline generators. Not the purest stuff in town, though.

Something was missing. I needed more. Being the morally corrupt ad junkie that I am...always chasing the next high. So I ventured on.

That’s when it hit me. I remembered this addictively entertaining and highly offensive adult party game endorsed by Satan himself. Maybe you’ve heard of it. Cards Against Humanity?

For the uninitiated, playing it is like joining a support group for assholes anonymous. But when you go to the meeting, you’re relieved to find out they don’t give a shit about recovery. They just encourage you to indulge your addiction to perversion and political incorrectness.

And that’s what I did. Once again Google didn’t disappoint either. I said, “Give me the good stuff...a Cards Against Humanity generator,” and that’s exactly what I got. Google can score anything.

Here’s where the fun starts. I clicked a button that generated one ridiculous phrase after another until I got one that was laugh out loud funny. Then I took the phrase from the white card on the CAH website and put it into the click bait generator. Traditionally, players ask a question from a black card, and everyone else answers with their funniest white card.

I clicked the “Generate” button a few times until I actually LOL’d again (yes, I’m easily amused, but this shit was so much fun I almost forgot why I was doing it in the first place). Then I copied and pasted my favorite 3 clickbait headlines to the document I had open on my laptop and got to work writing this piece about how to create a headline followed by a story based on that headline.

The weird part is that my original white card phrase and clickbait headlines aren’t what I ended up using for this story.

Somewhere along the way I decided to change it up a bit. The original phrase was “being awesome at sex” and I was going to choose from one of the following 3 headlines:

· 6 bits of being awesome at sex advice that will land you in prison
· The disturbing origins of being awesome at sex
· Why being awesome at sex sucks: myth vs. reality

I didn’t put too much thought into what I was doing. It was just an experimental exercise. Use the new tools I found online to generate some goofy content and GO. That’s it. What ended up happening is something that takes place when you stop analyzing and take action.

You come up with something unique and useful. I learned that the best opportunities don’t always present themselves right away, or when you’re looking too hard for them. They often appear during the process. After you take off. When you least expect it.

In this case the headline changed because I picked a new phrase, “click bait” instead of “being awesome at sex” because it just made sense to me. But not until after I started writing. Weird? Maybe. But definitely cool. Maybe weird is the new cool. Feel free to use that. You can thank me later.

And here’s today’s lesson, kids. The moral of the story, if you will, which is...

When you get stuck trying to think of ideas to write about, just have fun and write because your best work comes from doing the work. That’s why you always hear people say take action. I don’t know how it works, but I know it works. That’s the solution to the problem.

Remember. Don’t put too much thought into it. Enjoy the process and correct as you go. Then go back and edit if you need to or read things over to make sure what you wrote makes sense. At least that’s what I do.

In the future. Whenever you need an attention stealing headline. A headline that spawns a quick and entertaining story you can feed to dopamine fiends like me...try this fiendishly fun game I call Click Bait Ads Against Humanity.

It’s evil. It’s fun. And it just might work.

But if it doesn’t, you can just hire someone like me to do the work for you. Not because I’m a good person. Because it supports my writing habit. ;-)

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sdwahine from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @ruthlessrevenue! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @ruthlessrevenue! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59996.99
ETH 2531.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48