A REAL Russian Doll!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #russian7 years ago (edited)

Here’s my Russian Doll, Matryoshka. I got her several years ago and she is a work of art!

1.JPG

Isn’t she beautiful? Her real name is Matryona (of which Matryoshka is a diminutive). Well, as any other Matryoshka, she is not alone. In fact, she’s got quite a few children! Can you guess how many without scrolling down right away? Let me introduce them one by one.

Our Runner-up is called Alyona (Alyonushka is the endearing form):

2.JPG

Alyona is beautiful (takes her looks after her Mom), well-behaved, a regular churchgoer (tags along after Matryona every God blessed Sunday).

Our Number Three is Masha:

3.JPG

Masha is a real bookworm, diligent in her studies, also currently learning how to cook.

Dasha “the Rascal” is Number Four:

4.JPG

Hyperactive. Real menace.

Next, Number Five, is Natasha:

5.JPG

Nata for short. If you ever call her Natashka (the diminutive/familiar form), Nata will go ballistic, furious at you for not treating her as an adult.

Alina, Number Six, is the cutest of the bunch:

6.JPG

Loves candy and bedtime stories.

And, finally, Galina, Number Seven, our last Dolly:

7.JPG

Galya for short and cute. The newcomer in the family, screams a lot, especially when hungry, and takes up most of Matryona’s time.

And now, let’s look at the whole bunch, all seven of them together:

20170602_115555.jpg

Well, here you go, your typical Russian Doll family. Buy one, get six for free!

And finally, a family photo collage, straight from the family album:

20170602_125950-COLLAGE.jpg

Are you following?

ABCDoctorLogoMini.jpg

Sort:  

They are really cute. What I wonder is, where do they come from. I mean, who had the idea first, to make those doll in a doll in a doll things, and what their meaning.

Here you go my Friend, this should answer your questions:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Matryoshka_doll

Oh, thanks! I thought they would be older.
I really could have thought about looking it up in Wikipedia myself... Sorry.

Not a problem at all, you are very welcome.

Thanks, my friend!

You got this in Russia? I'm not sure why, but I expected even the smaller ones to have nice details. We bought a "wannabe" one in Taiwan. The first one looks nice and then it get's pretty crazy from there. Ha

Yes, I got it in Russia and it's one of the nicer models. Buying a Russian doll in Taiwan does sound a bit dubious :D

I live here, and was quite surprised. I'll post some pics of it, you can compare! The last one is really quite funny!

Ok, looking forward to it! 认识你很高兴!:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11