You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: In Plain Sight: Why WikiLeaks Is Clearly Not In Bed With Russia

in #russia7 years ago

Hi Suzie, I spent months during the last election countering Gary Kasparov's claims that Assange was working for Putin. I consider Julian and Snowden to be heros. I also admire the sacrifice of Barrett Brown and want to work on the Pursuance Project. This puts me in a quandry because I am NOT convinced that Barrett's position is correct... in so far as claiming that Assange should not work with whatever is available to him to secure his freedom. 5 years is enough... hell.. any amount of time in prison for telling the truth and getting vital info out to the public is too much time. But I also can understand why BB is upset with the idea that Assange colluded with Trump's team to help get Trump elected. It's complicated... the whole situation -- ALL these situations are complicated. If you are not a journalist who has never paid a serious price or toll for doing the work of TRUE journalism... a person would never understand. I am hoping to gather journalists here on Steemit to support one another regardless of what we believe or what opinions we hold or what long term strategies we are pursuing to make the world a better place. I think the Steemit platform is a good place to do this and that's why I am glad you are here and want to encourage you to keep participating. Would love to see Snowden, Assange and BB on here as well. I think the Steemit platform is a unique and powerful weapon in the war on disinformation. No shadowbanning or throttling is possible and the use of AI to limit what is seen or who sees what is also not happening here. Considering the concerns that Assange has raised about the use of AI to censor, control and manipulate the public records of what is occuring - I would think Steemit would be a natural fit for him. Anyways... Just wanted to let you know where I am in all this. I am saddened beyond words that "we all can't just get along". I am hoping that maybe if we were ALL using Steemit we could all just collectively hold our noses and in the very least support the right of every journalist to not be restricted or censored or banned. That's it for now. Take care!

Sort:  

Steemit is definitely an awesome platform and I'm continually trying to implore my Facebook and Twitter followers to get accounts and join in.

Re Barrett it's sad to see him attacking people who have relentlessly supported him but its not that surprising, there is huge pressure on people to denounce WikiLeaks right now, when we need them more than ever before.

Re Kasparov - I've just checked out his stuff and he is outright shilling for the intelligence agencies, pushing known NSA accounts like 20Committee... very sad to see.

Thank you so much for reading and engaging :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59410.96
ETH 2658.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43