Pose Running For Running Efficiency With The @runningproject

in #runningproject6 years ago (edited)

adult-architecture-athlete-221210.jpg

I wanted to include this information in my previous post about running efficiency but thought it needed its own post as it can be a bit involved.

In my quest to become a more efficient runner as a result of wanting to run further with less effort, I took a step back to something I was working on a few years ago. I had been doing a lot of reading on CrossFit and was interested in their philosophy of functional movement with an emphasis on safety, efficacy, and efficiency. I found it to be part of everything CrossFit, including to my surprise run training.

I was taken back a little to find out CrossFit was not all tractor tires and dead lifts. There was a running component involved, which focused on avoiding injury and overuse by ensuring correct technique. Their aim was to minimize contact with the ground by avoiding heal striking and ensuring the mid and fore foot are hitting the ground first. All talk of technique, drills and practice referred back to Pose Running, which had completely been pushed out of my mind until my resent efforts to improve my own technique and efficiency. I thought this would be a great opportunity to scrape the surface on the philosophy and teachings of the Pose Method of Running.

Pose Running 101


Let me start by saying the Pose Method of running is pretty indepth with courses, books and coaching to be purchased, and this is just a primer on what they teach with hopefully some good insights you may still be able to take away for your own running.

Links to Pose Method Course and Book:
https://posemethod.com/running/beginners-guide-pose-running/
https://store.posemethod.com/collections/books/products/pose-method-of-running-technique

The Pose Method was created in the 1970's by Dr. Nicholas Romanov, a sports scientist and coach within the Soviet Union athletics system. His aim was to study running from a physics perspecitic, and try to bring running down to using gravity to fall forward instead of fighting against it. The Pose Method is a way of looking at your run technique to improve your running performance by implementing three specific elements into your running:

  • Pose - Virtically aligned body which is supported by one leg on the ball of the runners foot.
  • Pull - The foot is pulled from the ground, while the other foot drops down to change support.
  • Fall - The runner is then allowing gravity to fall forward, as they change the leg they are supported with

20180910_174822.jpg
A picture of me performing the Wall Drill

Three Drills To Get You Thinking About Technique And Efficiency

  1. Wall Drill - This will teach you where you foot path needs to be by standing with your back against the wall and raise your foot, hitting the ball of your foot on the wall and then drop it down. Repeat this ten times on each foot and then run forward for 10 metres trying to use that technique in your run.

  2. Pretend Jump Rope - Jump on the balls of your feet as if you were using a jump rope. Lean forward slightly and let graverty move your body forward. As you move forward, try to start switching from one foot to the other, then try to run forward for ten metres using the same form.

  3. Jump Rope Drill - By using an actual jump rope, you will perform the same as drill 2 but you will be forced to lift your legs higher. When you start to run forward, drop the jump rope under your feet.

The following video, is a great demonstration of all three drills courtesy of TechniqueWOD

As you can see there's a lot more to it than simply running on your forefoot.

IMNZ.jpeg
Now over two years ago, a pic of me running Ironman New Zealand

About the Author
Hey I'm Vince, an Aussie living in New Zealand, trying my best to make the most of the time I have. I work as a Software Engineer but love to run and all aspects of it, including geeking out on the latest science to help get the most out of my body.

For more information about @runningproject please see the latest status report:
https://steemit.com/runningproject/@runningproject/the-steem-running-project-10th-status-report-the-holidays-have-finished-back-to-run

If you have found this post useful or interesting, please consider Commenting, Upvoting, Following and/or Resteeming

Written by @run.vince.run on behalf of the @runningproject

Sort:  

Do doubt that fucntioning training will make you a better runner by improving your core, strenght, and speed.

hmm, I'm not sure...I am thinking of getting one of their books and reading through it...I will write another post if I do.
Regards @run.vince.run

Sure dude. More reading, more knowledge.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63156.26
ETH 3071.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86