Another Week With The Winter Warrior - Week 2

POTH_2018_030594.jpg
Me Racing in NZ Over the Summer

This is my training week, hoping to post every Friday with a breakdown of my training, including current race focus, goals and how the weekend went. So here is my break down of the weekend ending Thursday 21th of June.

This Weeks Training Focus


Focus is returning to my run training as I have my last marathon in my 4 marathons in 4 months celebration of my 40th birthday. My bike training is cranking up a bit and with some travel back home, Wellington and Dunedin through July, I am trying to get a bit done before what looks to be an easier month of training. I keep seeing advertisments for trips to Fiji, Vanauatu and Samoa, and look on them fondly wishing I am have accidentally book some holiday time and simply forgotten about it. Simply wishing to get away for a holiday is not going to help me though the winter or helping my run, swim and bike times. Only getting my training done is going to help with that.

More About My Swimming


tibook.png
Image courtesy of the book repository
Total Immersion by Terry Laughlin
https://www.booktopia.com.au/-total-immersion-terry-laughlin/prod9780743253437.html

Terry Laughlin is a bit of a hero of mine and was sad when he passed away last year. About 6 years ago, I needed to do something with my swimming. Its not that I was a horrible swimmer, but it I needed to get some decent results I needed to change what I was doing with my approach to training. This book basically gets you starting from the beginning. Its a lot to take in and probably not something you want to do in the middle of your racing season, but I am thankful I made the change and it has helped my swimming in a huge way.

I think some people need to reassess their own ability as a lot of people think they are swimming a lot better than what they are. If you are looking for serious improvements you may need to take a step backwards for a month or so. Total immersion does an amazing job at taking a beginner swimmer to an intermediate swimmer by:

  • Allowing to gain confidence in the water as this is a major road block to improvement in swimming.
  • Gets the swimmer to improve their body position.
  • Teaches the swimmer how they can improve their technique to reduce effort and swim faster as a result.

At the end of the day though, to move from an intermediate to advanced swimmer, you need to start swimming more and swimming faster. I have been able to continue to improve with only three swims a week. Two of my swims in a morning swim squad and the last swim is an easier session on Friday night.

weekstraining.png
The following is a breakdown from strava on my weekly progress:
Swim: 6.9km
Bike: 98km
Run: 34.7km
Total: 140.0km

If you would like to see my training or follow me on strava, please see the link below:
https://www.strava.com/athletes/1778778

Upcoming Races

  • Wellington Marathon - 1 July 2018

How The Week Went


Another good week with some and not pushing things too hard as I have a marathon next weekend. I feel like my training is challanging me, so it at least makes me think I am getting stronger. Its time for me to start looking ahead for races over the Spring and Summer, so will need to start booking them in as well.

Interested In Fitness And Steem


If you want to get involved in the Steem communities that are helping people earn Steem by keeping fit and active, here is a list of the groups I know of:

My latest post for the @runningproject is all about "Jack Daniels Run Formula and Training For a 10km Race", so feel free to look it up below:
https://steemit.com/runningproject/@runningproject/the-runningproject-daniels-running-formula-10km-training-week-2

If you have found this post useful or interesting, please consider Commenting, Upvoting, Following and/or Resteeming @run.vince.run

Sort:  

Nice work, maybe I'll be doing this in a decade....4 marathons in four months. Keep it up!

*When someone tells you that what you want to do is impossible, change the word in your head to hard. What you want to do is hard. Hard is doable – it just requires dedicated work and effort and you can make it happen.
@trevor.george

*Resteemed by @runningproject

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62685.52
ETH 2436.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51