You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Steem Running Project: Runner's Rainbow Nutrition Series--Red

I am gonna have to go with Red Peppers as my favorite red veggie and watermelon as my favorite fruit. I am so thankful to be able to devote more time to our meals and prep since we are not working. Eating healthy makes all the difference in the world. Being 30 minutes away from fast food also helps me stay on track :) Now if I could just learn to like beets.

Sort:  

Those are excellent choices! I use red peppers all of the time in my cooking. Watermelon is one fruit I need to enjoy more when they are fresh, sweet and juicy in the summer! Do you grow either of those on the farm?

I know beets are still tough for a lot of people! Though I've known a few people who don't mind them hidden in a chocolate cake. ;) Haha!

2016 was my first garden. It was while we lived in the barn and in a 10x10 dog kennel. That kept the deer out and it was FULL of veggies. I raised much more than I should because we had no fridge (just a yeti cooler), no stove (just a wood stove) so I cooked the heck out of stuff. 2017 we were just moving in our house so I had what I referred to as my kitchen garden. It was enough to keep me busy and I canned quite a bit for my first year. I had more peppers than anything.
Red, Green, Yellow, Anaheim, Jalapeno, and cayenne. I put pepper in everything. I canned a lot of rotel and Marinara with the peppers, tomatoes and onions. This year I am planning a big girl garden and so excited. We just finished our deer proof fence so I am hopeful everything will not get eaten before I get to it. I have watermelon seeds from Baker Creek so this will be my first year with those. The mice ate my watermelon seedlings in the greenhouse last year before I could even plant them. We put a wildlife camera in there and I couldn't believe my eyes. Oh the joys AND disappointments.

Can I come be your neighbor? ;) Sounds awesome. I know contending with critters can be tricky, but can you blame them when you have such yummy stuff to tempt them?

I think we've had 2 watermelons reach maturity in our little garden, but not a lot of luck with peppers other than jalapeno peppers yet. We don't have a big space set aside, but enough to get some fresh goodies.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65189.35
ETH 3155.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60