You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🏃 My Running Log | 11/04 | Inverted-Pyramid 10km

in #runningproject6 years ago

The 3k-tempo/4k-steady/3k-tempo was the pyramid portion? yeah? I'd be keen to hear a bit more about this kind of workout.. Would "tempo" be a faster pace than "steady-pace"? I'm trying to figure out how to better structure my running training. (Though, it would probably be helpful to focus more on running, and less on cycling and climbing at the same time...).

Kinda fired up to hear that you're going to intentionally pace by 'feel' on your long run coming up. I get frustrated sometimes with all the different gadgets and widgets that I pay attention to when I'm running. Nice to get back to basics.

nice work

Sort:  

Tempo is a pretty fast pace (but not your fastest), for me it's somewhere around 4:15/km. By steady pace, I just mean something that's still pretty quick but relatively comfortable over longer distances, around 4:30/km ish. There's a handy tool on Strava that shows me my Pace Distributions based on my fastest race times, but I'm a lot fitter than I actually thought I was (hopefully I'll be able to show that tomorrow at Parkrun as I'm aiming for a sub-19 minute 5k).

When I refer to an inverted pyramid, it just means that I set out at my peak paces, purposefully slowed down in the middle of the run, and then sped up in the latter stages. I often do pyramid workouts (which is just the opposite), but with two segments at peak paces, I find inverted pyramids are more challenging and offer a better workout.

You can sort of see what I mean from this chart...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66984.19
ETH 2613.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67