🏃 My Running Log | 18/02 | 4km | Total - 183.1km in 2019!

in #runningproject6 years ago (edited)

I just finished a 3.981km run that lasted about 0hh:16mm:18ss !

image

A really tough but rewarding little run today. I have a longer run in mind for somewhen this week (I've roughly planned the route), and wanted to do that today, but the weather was pretty miserable and I just didn't fancy it. Instead, I decided to do some speed work, just 4km but I challenged myself by getting progressively quicker every kilometre. I started at a steady 4:17m/km for the first kilometre, 4:19m/km for the second kilometre (but the elevation gain was a little higher), 4:08m/km for the third kilometre and 3:55m/km for the final. It was really hard work, especially after finishing some of the hills in the first two kilometres and having to push on further when both my mind and body wants to take a step back and go easy. I'm really, really pushing myself hard to give myself a different mindset than I've had previously; pain thresholds are completely psychological metrics, and I'm going to try and exploit that.

My overall time was only about 15 seconds over 16 minutes which was a wonderful sign. My speed is improving and I'm getting closer and closer to that 20 minute goal. If I had run an extra kilometre, I would have eased to my fastest 5km time this year. I also ran my fastest estimated 1 mile & 2 mile efforts in 2019, and set a new PB on a segment on Strava. My hard work is starting to pay off!

image


image


Check out some detailed info at my EXHAUST page
Join me in testing out EXHAUST!


Alt text


Member of the Running Project Iniative

Check out my Strava!

Sort:  

Every day is a good day when you run.
Kevin Nelson

Magic Dice has rewarded your post with a 7% upvote. Thanks for playing Magic Dice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63030.98
ETH 2594.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74