Long Runs Provide Clarity - 11.15 miles complete! #runningproject

in #runningproject6 years ago

20180421_192435.jpg
Today I completed my last long run prior to my half marathon on 5/6. Can't believe it's almost that time! I will probably do a 7-8 mile run next Saturday at a quicker clip. Today, I purposely slowed it down. I feel a good deal of muscular fatigue afterwards, but feel strong overall physically and mentally. I did an out and back course starting at Baker park in downtown Frederick, MD.
20180421_194839.jpg
As far as pacing, it took me 1hr 57min 5sec to complete this run. It was hotter out and I sweated a lot!! Here's the pace breakdown....
20180421_192838.jpg
And, if I stayed at that pace, I would complete the half in 2hr 17min.
20180421_192903.jpg
As some of you may know, my goal for this half is under 2hr 10min. I think its doable following some rest, good nutrition, & quality training during my taper. On previous long runs this training period I was down to 10:02/mile which is 2hr 11min for a half. I have tried to maintain conversation pace on all these long runs for injury reduction, etc.

As my post name suggests, YES, long runs (and running/exercise in general), but particularly long runs, always seem to be able to solve most problems I may be facing in life or at least reduce them to a level that is manageable. Anyone else notice that?

Race day should be interesting. I will be participating in the Frederick Half marathon.
The race day swag & medal look pretty cool.
Alright, that'll wrap things up for this post. Thanks for reading & happy Saturday & weekend to all.
20180404_010520.png

Sort:  

Well done @chelsea88 , I'm sure you will achieve that goal. You are more than prepared to do so .

Thanks, i certainly hope so =)

Have a beautiful Sunday @chelsea88 and enjoy your runnings!
Best regards Tom
Zanonisquid.png
resteemed

Thank you on both accounts and hope yours is good too!

It looks like your hard work is paying off!

Thanks i certainly hope so!

I craft a lot of conversations in my head with other people while I'm on long runs then as soon as I walk in the door after the run it all seems to go away which is usually a good thing.

Lol, all my run-spirations don't come to fruition either whether that is for the good well, possibly lol

Well done. Good luck for the race. I hope it goes well for you. I can't believe it is nearly May already!

I'll be sure to keep an eye out for your victory post ;-)

Thanks for the well wishes. I feel pretty good about it overall. And definitely come to expect that victory post 😁

What an achievement! Congratulations! 🎉 I just started my 7 mile trail walks. I have a long way to go, but I am injoying it.

Thanks & good job on your trail walks!

Nice job! Feels good to get that last long one in, doesn't it?

Thx for the resteem @kafkanarchy84!!

Yey, we have a new Running Author of the Week!!!

Look who won... who is Running Author of the Week 12!
Resteemed by @runningproject

I got some life-changing ideas on my long runs... so I absolutely agree with the title. Even if I started such run all messy and indecisive, suddenly (usually after 10, 12 km) it all came to its place and I knew what to do regarding something that puzzled me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63498.69
ETH 2645.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80