Wolfpack and Shoney's (rough run this morning)

in #running6 years ago

How do you bounce back from a bad run?

This morning we (the wolfpack 🐺) set out to do a tune up run for the New Orleans Rock n Roll marathon we are running in about three weeks. The goal was to run 12 miles at marathon pace (6:52 per mile).

As I walked out the door to leave for the run this morning I debated whether I should eat something or not. It was a bad idea to go on an empty stomach. My first thought was I've run 12 miles plenty of times on an empty stomach. But I didn't take into account the race pace intensity. Lesson learned.

Coach put us on a pretty challenging course. It's pretty hilly (for us flatlanders 😜). The first mile was a warm up mile and it wasn't so bad. I wore a light rain jacket because thunderstorms were in the forecast. It quickly became too warm. So I tied it around my waist.

As we got about 4 miles in and a few good hills, I just felt so sluggish, tired, and fatigued. My lungs were good but my legs just felt heavy this morning. It was a few things that particularly got me today. I should have eaten before. The hills kicked my ass. And I should respect my rest days more, especially weeks away from the race.

Training = Workouts + Recovery

IMG_6390.PNG

Well needless to say I struggled today. I think it's ok to admit it too. In the past, I would be harsh to myself for falling short. I think with time I've learned its better to learn from the situation and use it to your advantage. That made me review what I'm doing right and what I'm doing wrong. Now I can adjust accordingly.

But.. there's still a happy ending. We put in work at Shoney's breakfast buffet afterwards 🍳

IMG_6389.JPG

Just sharing my thoughts from today's run. I think I may start doing a weekly recap of my runs. Especially when I start training for the upcoming ultras. It helps me to review and adjust.

Follow me on Strava to check out my weekly workouts: https://www.strava.com/athletes/14654723

Sort:  

We may train or peak for a certain race, but running is a lifetime sport.
Alberto Salazar

*Resteemed by @runningproject

Don’t forget to “Vote your Running Author of the Week”

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70845.83
ETH 3807.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.42