Week four of training is done, time for a week off

in #running5 years ago

I managed to struggle through the last week of my new training block – building up endurance, although I didn’t manage to run as much as I’d hoped to.

My plan had been to run 160kms in the last week – my first ever 100 mile week. But Friday morning was difficult because I had an early appointment, and I didn’t manage to struggle out of bed an hour earlier to get the full 20kms in. so I only did 10kms.

That left 30kms to run in the evening. Doable, but it would hurt quite a bit. By the time the evening came around the weather had packed a sad and it was miserable. So I decided, sod it, and curled up inside where it was nice and warm instead.

That left me with 131kms for the week. Still an ok total, but a bit shy of my target. But I’m happy with my effort for the month. I really increased the distance I was running by quite a margin and managed to get through it all without totally breaking down.

My ankles are pretty messed up however. I noticed while I was at my sister’s house for dinner over the weekend that they were both quite swollen, which probably explains some of the pain.

So now I have a full week off. No running at all (except maybe Friday morning) and instead concentrating on stretching and massage and foam rolling. Once my body has healed a bit and I feel like I can get back into it, I’ll start the next evolution, building on what I’ve just done and hopefully addressing my biggest weakness once and for all.

Starting next week, I’ll be doing hill repeats – but not short or small hill repeats (that would be too easy – and sensible). There is a big hill not far from my house that is just on the edge of being runnable. So I’ll be visiting it every weekday and hammering up and down it until my lungs say – enough! I’ll keep doing that for all of March and then it will be time to rest again.

All we need is for summer to come back next week (it’s freezing cold at the moment) so I don’t have to wear 15 layers of clothing just to step out the door.


Steemit etiquette

  • Do write meaningful comments
  • Do discuss the topic in the post
  • Do tell me about how we share an interest
  • Do take the time and effort to actually read the post before commenting
  • Don't ask for follows
  • Don't ask for votes
  • Don't say you have voted for a post and then not vote for it
  • Don't say you have resteemed a post and not resteem it
  • Don't write short coments like 'Nice post'
  • Do be the sort of person you want reading and voting for your own posts.

Don't forget to check out my Dad's blog

Who else can tell you stories about impersonating an officer, stealing a military aircraft to go on a booze run, or steal military aircraft and go on an unsanctioned bombing run - and that's all before he turned 18!

Check out @len.george and find out what other madness he got up to!


Are you new to Steemit and trying to figure out what it's all about?

Head over to: https://www.steemithelp.net/. It's the best place to get a handle on what the platform is all about.


Sort:  

It was good you were still able to drive with your ankles, the oldies appreciated the ride home.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63849.10
ETH 3132.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89