You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Masters Track and Field Changed My Life

in #running7 years ago

Running behind sexy bums can be very dangerous, as you have seen ;-)

I'd love to be able to sprint. In fact I DID sprint over the weekend, chasing a mountain biker downhill. I went really fast for about 20 meters and watched as he coasted away from me, not even pedaling.

My stumpy little legs are not made for going fast ;-)

I think it is great that you have rekindled your passion and it is back to being such a big part of your life, and that you can go back to the places where it all started and relive those memories, while making new ones to relive next time.

It just goes to show that you are never too old ;-)

Sort:  

I am a firm believer in some sprinting for all runners. It doesn’t matter if you’re fast or not, but everyone benefits from the added strength and flexibility that short all-out sprInts develop. Also, any raw speed you develop will allow you to run more efficiently at slower speeds. And finally, there is a ton of research that shows we produce more human growth hormone when we do sprints of 30 seconds. If you are doing very heavy distance work, as I saw you shared on @shanibeer’s post, then you might want to consider including a 30 second sprint at the conclusion of every workout. If you do, your pituitary gland will release 500% more hgh the next time you sleep for at least 30 minutes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60045.81
ETH 2420.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43