You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How I use a foam roller (and friends) to beat IT Band Syndrome

in #running6 years ago

Thanks for that :-)

I have a spikey ball too, but it is not as good for me as the smooth ball.

I've also had limited success with stretching, so I've stopped stretching before and after a run. I don't seem to be having a higher occurrence of injury since I stopped.

I think it is all a matter of finding out how your body works best and then doing it that way.

Sort:  

If you like the smooth ball you could try freezing it for inflammation reduction. Freeze a water bottle and try rolling that too.

I def disagree about about stretching though. Just saying. :) You're going to want to stretch though honestly.... tight muscles develop problems slowly over time.

For example, if you don't stretch your hamstrings enough they can get tight, pull on the pelvis then the lower back in an unnatural way

I'm in physio for what its worth :)

Thanks for that :-)

I never thought about freezing the ball. I might try that :-)

As for stretching, I used to stretch a lot - like every hour! When I was younger and doing martial arts I's be constantly stretching. I had really loose legs etc but that didn't stop me from getting injured.

I also stretched a lot when I started running, and that didn't seem to stop the injuries either. For now, I do a little light stretching, mainly focused on my ankles, and that seems to be working.

I do work no range of motions stuff to try and keep my joints loose, and the rolling (now) seems to be working for me.

I guess different things work for different people. ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63439.39
ETH 2545.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66