Running on holidays: The Pyrenees

in #running7 years ago

Holidays is the perfect time of the year to experiment with a different scenario for running.
In our case, we used to plan a few weeks of holidays enjoying nature, escaping from the big city.
During the past week we went to the Pyrenees. More concretely to Benasque, in the north part of Spain, touching the border with France.

In this place you can enjoy of big mountains, reaching, some of them, more than 3000 meters high as Aneto (3404m), Maladeta or Posets.

During this week we did a lot of trekking, together with my wife, my daughter, my son and friends. Lovely indeed.

Also I went for running, taking the advantage of this fantastic landscape, I did three Trail-runs in altitude:

First: 11 km and 620m of altitude in 1h 30'

Second: 11 Km and 400m of altitude, faster.

Third and very hard: 10km and 1159m of height. Tough, very tough...

Almost 4 hours in total. This last one was really very hard... I did the 1 vertical kilometer in 1 hour. The "experienced" people can understand how hard it can be...

Now I have my quadriceps exploiting ;-) , but I enjoyed so much!!!
And the most important, the happiness I felt when I reached my target (a Glacial Lake at 2600m of altitud) and the landscape that I found, deserved the effort, without doubt! Look this photo:

TrailRunning is a perfect combination for senses as well!!!

Keep on running, always my friends!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63239.86
ETH 2621.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77