Five kilometers of agony... (5x1000 Fast Repetitions Workout)

in #running7 years ago

Yesterday I went for running but I didn't have time to post anything about so, anyway, was my famous relaxing recovery run of 30' and 6 progressive sprints that I used to do during lighter weeks or weeks on which I have a COMPETITION (remember that my next 10K race is this Sunday, 9:30 AM Barcelona Time).

So, in preparation of the race, today I had a Short in time but Hard in intensity workout

.
You can see how the ''Running gang'' were already in the Athletic Track, waiting my arrival so, I was late today :-)

What has been the ''Running Menu'' today?

  • Starter: 2.5km of warming-up run, at 5''/km pace in average, very soft.

  • Main dish: 5 repetitions of 1000m at 3'22"/km as a target pace, resting 2'30" between repetitions

  • Dessert: Cool-down jogging + stretching (If possible, try to draw the BITSHARES Logo as sugested to @beiker in a previous post )

I didn't feel so well... I managed to run 4 of the 5 intervals at the objective pace, so 3'22.1" the first, 3'21.5" the 2nd, 3'21.5" the 3rd and 3'22.5" the 4th but... during the fifth interval I noted that the left calf was starting to get hard and over-stressed so I decided not to take risks since I have the competition on Sunday... so, the time of the last 1000m was 3'28".... Still not bad I guess...

After the "agony" I did some hundred meters of jogging without shoes, over the grass and I stretched softly.

During the cool-down I tried to draw the BITSHARES Logo on the pitch...Have a look...

OK, OK... next time I'll do it better!!!!

As a Summary of the running session today:

  • 5km of High Quality Running Workout
  • Average Heart Beat Frequency: 141 bpm
  • Maximum Heart Beat Frequency: 182 bpm
  • almost 9 Km in total
  • Total time including stretching: 67 '

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/2440223675 .

Keep on running!!!

marco.jpg

@toofasteddie, proud member and promoter of the @runningproject initiative

*FYI and Safety: Please, do not try to repeat this workout exactly as I did if you are not able at least to run faster than 39' on a competitive 10K race. Feel free here to ask me about how to do it and I will try to answer you depending on your current performance and goal expectations.
Running is a healthy activity and gives you lots of satisfactions and energy but first things first and your physical integrity must be your main priority.

Sort:  

if i'd ask my daughter she would see a snail in this drawing, but i can see perfectly the logo of bitshares! excellent! @toofasteddie

I'm going to be a little bad and my challenge for your next running art is going to be the Stellar logo;)

ahhahaha!!! go to h..ll!!!!

Nice workout ... If you feel tired, next time skip the last one ... the last one has to be the fastest one ... this is good for motivation ... 3:28 after 3:22 avarage is the opposite ... always aim for progression in times ... better to start with 3:25 and finnish with 3:20, than opposite ... keep up the good work! And good luck on the race day ... what is you goal? 36-37min?

I know man, thanks for the advice... yes, in progression is the best... the problem was that I got this pain in my left calf and I preferred to end conservatively... and yes, I will try to be between 36' and 37'... I'm not in my best moment, have a lot of work and not so much time for increasing volume and intensity this season ☹️

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote!

Thanks but I was replying to @peropro who deserves also a vote by your side as well 😉

great run man @toofasteddie

A runner must run with dreams in his hearts.
Emil Zatopek

Resteemed by @runningproject

Good workout! I think I will do a similar training tomorrow (but not at the same pace obviously).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63635.72
ETH 2597.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91