Weekly Running Review - 10 weeks till Snetterton Track Half Marathon

in #running6 years ago

A week a go I was doing this.

cp20x30-GNRA2338.jpeg

Now I'm training for my next half marathon, I did this race, Snetterton track, last year for my first ever half marathon and had an amazing run, managing a time much better than I had anticipated at 2 hours 7 mins 39 seconds. I wasn't going to do it again but my 17 year old son wanted to do it for his first half marathon so I said I'd do it with him. Although his training is not going well! He definitely prefers shorter distances, he's not very good at committing himself to the training.

I've managed a few runs this week here are the stats from them.

IMG_1406.jpg

I did this run on Tuesday so 2 days after The Great North Run. This wasn't a bad run considering i'd ran 13.1 miles on the Sunday.

IMG_1407.jpg

This was my parkrun on Saturday, it's not a bad run but I was disappointed as I thought I was running at my best, it killed me and it was still over a minute slower than my pb.

IMG_1408.jpg

This run was a run home from parkrun. The plan I'm trying to follow has me doing a 12km run this week so I made it up with the 2 runs today.

IMG_1409.jpg

Todays run was my worst to date, I ended up walking, it was awful. I feel like I'm getting worse at running, not better and I don't feel any better, I hurt all the time, my legs feel heavy and tired all the time, my muscles hurt and my toe nails really hurt. I think if I didn't have races booked I could easily give up running. I don't want to give up but it really doesn't seem worth it. I'm miserable when I run and I'm even more miserable when I don't. I just want to be a better runner and feel better.

Thanks for looking
Happy reading peeps 🖤

Proud to be part of @runningproject and @isotonic

Sort:  

Shazza!What a good stamina of runing you have....morning 8km and parkrun 5.1km....I am a university student and my age is about 20 years but unfortunately I have no any healthy exercise rutine...But God willing I will start my runing from today morning...hahaha

Thank you, you really should start running whilst you are still young

Everybody have bad days @shazza ...
Just rest longer, draft a running plan and keep on running!
I think you should join any training gang you may find where you live...with a running coach.
You have trained very well by yourself but now you need a more specific plan.

I know we all have bad days but I just don’t seem to be getting any better or easier. I try and follow a training plan as that gives me motivation to go out. I know what you mean about joining a group, it probably would help a lot but I struggle socially with groups of people and family commitments make it difficult to commit to an organised groups. I just feel that everyone else I know he does running are improving getting quicker and I’m not. I am older than them so maybe it’s that!

Don't think like this @shazza ! Anyone can improve! Of course a youngster will do faster than you and me but, that's natural!
Anyway, I think you should have to include different workouts to your plan...
Include intervalic workouts, repetitions on ramps and perhaps also run on trails, in the forest, in the mountains...put variety in your training agenda, and enjoy each different workout. That's the most important!

Thank you, I am going to try and change up my training with interval, fart leak and hills but it’s very hard to get the motivation to do on my own. I know that’s what I need to do though

That's my @shazza !!! You are a SPARTAN!!!
Just interchange one of the runs you used to do at mid-week by one workout...
I propose you the following for wednesday:
Piramidal Fartlek:
10' of warm up jogging + (1' fast +1'slow+2'Fast+2' slow+3'fast+3'slow+4' fast+4'slow+3' Fast+3'slow+2'fast+2' slow+1'fast+1'slow) + 10' Of Cool down Jogging +5' minimum of stretching

BTW: It is not "FART LEAK" but FARTLEK (Scandinavian word) LOL!!!

No need to be a masochist to run well... but a bit of pain could make you stronger. ;)
@amico

Resteemed by @runningproject

Bad days happen. You are an inspiration!

Thank you xx

Congratulations @shazza! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63525.26
ETH 2583.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80