Countdown To My First Marathon -133 days [1/50 #fiftyrunstillmay]

in #running7 years ago (edited)


This week I started my new training plan, I’m starting 4 weeks into the plan as I’ve already been doing lots of running. So I’m starting at week 5.

5E9B8DD2-B3C3-429C-892E-F27B84715663.jpeg

I’m not sticking to it exactly but using it as a guide to what to do as life sometimes gets in the way! I ran for about 30 minutes on Tuesday but didn’t manage to get out Thursday but that’s ok as I did parkrun today.

I did a good run considering how cold it was, -1 degrees with a wind chill factor of about -5! It was lovely and sunny though so it looked like a beautiful day.

E064CBA8-D5BB-4F5E-B8C1-05EC013B8035.jpeg

We run along the top and bottom of the cliff twice, finishing on the bottom.

55F38C00-315B-42DE-BF2E-602401F02AA0.jpeg

My fastest time for this parkrun is 25.05 but that was back in May and I haven’t been able to get anywhere near it since! Today I got 26.18 which I’m really pleased with.

BEBB7454-1D53-44AE-9E49-6B218121FF80.jpeg

E53690D3-BDF5-46AE-8B1E-1007832D52F5.jpeg

Apart from enjoying parkrun I meet up with some of my family who also takes part, my daughter, my youngest son @supertraff and my cousin were there today, sometimes there’s more of us.

D6B6D3D5-88F9-4991-B072-24F10E08A8A6.jpeg

Today I’m also starting the challenge #fiftyrunstillmay set by @austrianguy, I found out about it as @toofasteddie posted a post by @wolfje saying it was still possible to complete this even though it’s halfway through so I thought I’d give it a go. I do like a challenge.

Well I hope you enjoy my post, if you have then upvote, resteem and follow to see future updates on my marathon training.

Thanks for looking
Happy reading peeps 🖤

Sort:  

For sure you will complete the challenge, you have a long training plan till your marathon.
One recommendation, stick to the chosen plan, don't change a coma and you will success.
btw, nice pics!

Good advice!

Thanks for that shot man!
Keep on running!

Thanks for the advice, I will try not to change things but sometimes busy lifestyles interfere with what I actually want to do and that’s run. x

Marathon is a major race, has to take it seriously because, if you are not really well-trained it can hurt... Another advise, despite you are a professional of the eating incomes, is to control very well the calories you ingest, you have to eat exactly what you burn during the training in order to get the desired body adaption.

Good luck! p.s. the name of the game is injury prevention! It's the hardest part of marathon training! :)

Thank you, I’m hoping if I build up gradually like the training plan shows then I won’t get injured. I’ve suffered with really bad hamstrings for a long while, I’m hoping they don’t get any worse, I’m trying everything to sort them out and make them better. x

Good luck, I've never had a hamstring issue, mine is always knees and occasionally feet. My wife first got me into marathon running, and we're coming up on our 4th one in a few months. I'm a little on the denser/heavier side (more of a weight lifter than a runner), and I feel that it's just building up on my joints.

Thanks for the shout-out and good luck! We're in this together. The challenge is definitely a great motivator. Good luck!!!

You’re welcome for the shout out I really enjoyed reading your post. I love challenges like this, can’t believe I didn’t see it earlier but I’m sure I can do it as I hate to fail. x

Make sure you resteem one of @theaustrianguy post to be in it to win it! He’s the organiser and he needs a push himself 😉

that's amazing x good luck, your dad must be so proud x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62924.41
ETH 2436.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52