Running/Eating disorder rantsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #running7 years ago

In 2015, I was a running machine of sorts. I was running between 30-50 miles per week and I did really well in a lot of races that year. I pushed myself so hard that at the end of the year I ended up in the hospital with heart problems. I had to take 3 months off and see a cardiologist almost weekly. My entire life revolved solely around running in 2015 and in a blink of an eye it was gone from my life.
Although running was something I was extrmely passionate about, I had a dark secret-I was severly bulimic that year as well. I was so fixated on losing weight so I could be lighter and run faster that in the end, I was just very sick. I also had very bad body dismorphia and could only see a disgusting obese person in the mirror.
I eventually got help and my recovery journey has been a long, slow journey. I went from binging and purging to only abusing laxatives to only obsessively weighing myself. I finally got rid of ALL of the eating disorder behaviors and the scale about 6 months ago.
Another huge step in my recovery was that I found veganism. It has changed my life is so many positive ways. I am finally to a place in life where I view food as nutrition to fuel my body rather than some sort of evil enemy. I am now so in tune with my body that I know exactly what foods make me feel great and which food make me feel icky. I eat to make my body feel great, not to focus on weight loss.
As for the body dismorphia, it's pretty much gone now. I am starting to feel more and more confident about my physical appearance. I have never ever ran without a shirt on. Today was the 2nd day ever that I did so. It may seen minor to some, but after my long history with eating disorders and body dismorphia, it is an incredible feeling to be able to run without a shirt on and feel free!

On another note, after taking 2 years off of running, I am not nearly as fast as I used to be. I have working on being very patient with my body and I've learned to take it one run at a time. With some consistency, I know I will get my speed back:) Anything in life is possible. Never ever give up on your dreams no matter what anyone tells you. Love yourself♡IMG_20180219_113250_048.jpg

Sort:  

good on you, i was the same way in college but not to the extremes that you had ( i did triathlon training and was 4% body fat). I agree that the vegan diet has helped me become more comfortable with my weight and lifestyle.

I hope you have future success and keep being strong!

Thank you very much fit sharing! I think eating disorders are fairly common in endurance athletes. The vegan diet has changed my entire life and perspective on food as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64136.37
ETH 2755.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68