Long Run, my lucky day #runforsteem

in #running6 years ago (edited)

Saturday's long run was set for 20 miles with lots of rain... I put out my green shirt and green beans. Before I can celebrate with Irish Whiskey or beer, I need to check off my long run. I do always laugh as friends asked what I was up to for St. Patrick's day... umm guys it's a Saturday- long run... but sure, post run I'll crack open a Guinness for one of my favorite holidays! March Madness combined with spring training and St. Patrick's day is always one of my favorite weekends of the year.

Friday night was a bit different this week, as I mentioned I am a big March Madness fan (Syracuse - and their game Friday night, going in as the 11 seed I expected maybe a first round win- but not such a great game!!) WOO and my boys did great! I was giving the play by play to my dad (he's actually the alumni, I just live and root Orange)

That was not really the story of the night. In the top corner I was watching the Virginia (1) v. UMBC (16) - just in case you didn't know a 16 has never beaten a 1 seed, until now. I saw highlights, but it wasn't enough. I decided to watch the replay, as my husband was checking on me until 1am, "don't you have to run in the morning?" haha yeah, thanks- but HISTORY!!

Ok, enough about March Madness, let's get back to the pre- run stuff. I just joined the San Francisco - Golden Gate Running Club- and decided I would run with a couple people (really fast so I was stressing) meeting at 9am. I mapped my run to run 8-9miles before I met up with them. I was nervous, as I had never really met 2 of them, but I did know they are all fast. #getoverit THEN... at 10pm, one of the guys pointed out to us that 9am-12pm was the heaviest rain of the day. Well, fine. I guess it wasn't meant to be.

I re-adjusted my route - setting the alarm for 7am, and getting 10-14 miles in, then ending at a gym for the final few miles if needed. During a race if it rains, you don't have a choice, but in training- why have blisters/wet feet/shoes and chafing? Let's be smart about this. Well, after I decided to watch the replay of the game until 1am, I made a minor adjustment, and un-set my alarm. I didn't need to meet anyone at any specific time, and sleep was needed.

When I woke up, there was an entirely different forecast, with no rain for a few hours- yay! Unfortunately, due to the later start, I missed running with the new group. There will be another day for this I'm sure!

Searched for this, and while it was pretty amazing out- I seemed to miss every rainbow I saw posted on social media that day!

Since I had been so wishy-washy about what I was going to do, with the change in weather I wanted to do all 20 outside (that is always the goal)

Podcasts
Only for the first ~7 miles today (due to the bridge I can't hear very well, so I had to switch to music) As I mentioned, I try to sneak in one #runselfierepeat podcast, but this was a real quick one ~ 10minutes. The bulk of my time today... #NPR #radiolab

I had listened to a previous episode about this amazing creature Mantis Shrimp if you haven't heard of it, check it out.

Amazing animal, but it seemed fitting as they were discussing the color spectrum and I was out searching for rainbows

My Route
Screen Shot 2018-03-18 at 11.16.31 PM.png

Miles 1- 5 through the Presidio, then crossing the bridge & a water/stretch break at Mile 6.5

I just love the view of the city from Vista Point! This was a good spot for water, stretch and a few sport beans. Still on the medium pace portion, so why not soak in the view and take a photo or two?

Miles 10 onward was through Golden Gate park around Spreckles (this was my fastest portion) and up Fulton to 25th. My husband met me at Lake & 25th & ran the last portion with me, what a nice treat!

The workout- 20.2miles
1 Mile Warmup
12 Mile medium pace
10k (6.2mi) MP
1 Mile cooldown

I was happy with my splits, and I am a fan of this pushing hard at the end. I am hoping it helps kick everything in for the race! These runs that have many changes, twists and turns remind me that life happens and you just need to adjust. I had lots of time to think (almost 3 hours to be fair) about the mental side of running. I was much better prepared for today's run and although I was still nervous, I felt good and I am hoping these habits will help me along for the last month of training. Happy running, and have a great week! #rungirlsf #runforsteem #inspirational #marathontraining #runselfierepeat @runningproject

Countdown to the Marathon

41 days & counting...
https://www.timeanddate.com/countdown/to?iso=20180429T07&p0=816&msg=Eugene+Marathon&ud=2&font=hand&csz=1

Sort:  

Get out there, tie your shoelaces and run!
()
Resteemed by @runningproject

Kind reminder:

Choose your Running Author of the Week 8!

That shot over the water of the city is fantastic! Looks like a great day for a run. :)

Many nice photos, but that one with the bridge and rainbow was beautiful. Also, great run!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84