You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Couch to 5k – I need some help or input from runners and non-runners

in #running6 years ago

I think this is a great idea and a good way to get anyone out running. I think there are two points that come to mind for me and thats:

  • Starting slow. Even though people need to get moving for 20 to 30 minutes, it won't hurt to start off with 30 minutes of walking. I hate seeing Personel Trainers going out of their way to make people hurt, from their first training session. It's not a way to get people to come back.
  • One thing someone pointed out to me is to refer to the run's or walk's as "training sessions". It's a great way to get anyone to get into an Althetes Mindset and this can hopefully breed some training consistancy while improving their enjoyment.

Good luck Trevor and look forward to seeing what you come up with.
Regards @run.vince.run

Sort:  

Starting slow.

YES!! Abso-f-ing-loutly.

I'm planing on getting participants to run 6 days out of 7. That's right.

But each session is super easy, and builds on the previous one. I'm borrowing bits and pieces from all over the place, and adapting them to suit what I think are those people who are never going to cope with running for 10 minutes on their first day.

And the running will be the little old man shuffle. I'm not planning that they'd be entering a 5k race at the end of it. But that they would want to enter a 5k race and then start training for one.

You won't get them enthused about doing that if all they do is hurt. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62659.86
ETH 2534.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63