G is for Glutes in the Running ABC's

in #running6 years ago

runneronbridge.jpeg
Image Curtesy pexels.com

Today for our ABC’s of running, G is for Glutes

There has been a lot of talk lately about the importance that the glutes play in good running. Due to our lifestyles and other factors, it has seen a large majority of runners having weak glutes causing an imbalance in their running and an increase in the number of injuries suffered.

The Gluteal Muscles include the two smaller gluteus medius and minimus, which move the leg away from the body. Both are located at the outer hip and also assist in stabilizing the pelvis. While the larger of the three gluteal muscles, the gluteus maximus is responsible for hip extension, or pushing your hip forward after pushing off with your foot. Although these actions seem like nothing when you are running, but they keep your hips centered meaning your knees, ankles and feet are all in alignment.

Poor glute activation causes and over reliance on hamstrings and gives you less control over internal rotation of the legs leading to knee injuries, increased lower back pain and muscle imbalance.

Even if your glutes are as strong as other leg muscles, like your quadriceps or hamstring, but are not firing correctly, the body will use other muscles to do what the glutes should be doing, resulting in an inefficient running style with often some type of injury or pain to follow.

So What Causes Poor Glute Strength?


The most common answer is that lifestyle factors of sitting in a seditory position for long periods of time in our day to day lives. This causes our glutes to slowly stop firing due to the reduced oxygen provided to the muscles and tightening hip flexors.
This results in the glutes being abnormally week in most people, even in experienced runners.

How Can You Test If Your Have Poor Glute Strength


Runners World have a great video at the following link which will guide you through a set of tests to see if you are lacking in glute strength or if there are issues with your glutes firing.
(
)

Exercises To Improve Glutes


Now that you know if your have some deficiencies or issues with your glutes, it's time to start working on improving their strength and they way they fire. Below are a sample of some of the best glute exercises you can do:

  • Clamb Shell
  • Prone Leg Lifts
  • Bridges
  • Single Leg Bridges
  • Single Leg Squats

If you missed my earlier posts, you can see them at the following link:
https://steemit.com/running/@run.vince.run/the-abc-s-of-running-the-letter-a
https://steemit.com/health/@run.vince.run/running-abc-s-b-is-for-bq
https://steemit.com/running/@run.vince.run/the-running-abc-s-c-is-for
https://steemit.com/running/@run.vince.run/d-is-for-doms-in-the-running-abc-s
https://steemit.com/running/@run.vince.run/running-abc-s-e-is-for-epoc
https://steemit.com/running/@run.vince.run/continuing-our-running-abc-s-f-is-for-fartlek

If you have found this post useful or interesting, please consider Commenting, Upvoting, Following and/or Resteeming @run.vince.run

Sort:  

My glutes are lazy so I'm trying to wake them up with some exercises and I give them a pre-race warm up of their own to get them firing.

Yeah its crazy @runningdanw I have some knee problems and when I do some activation exercises before a run it doesn't hurt as much either.
Regards @run.swim.run

With me is opposite. I don't dare to do any of exercises before and right after running. I only walk very fast, that is all that I do. I have impression that stretching for instance causes me slight pain in hamstring area for days. And it is always left leg (that was injured last year).
What I do sometimes, regardless of running: are squats, and exercises for hamstrings, because I feel that my hamstrings are somehow weak) . Next week I'll start with wall seat. I like it because it is static exercise, and I hope it will improve strength in targeted muscles.
What do you think of benefit for running, of such exercise so called wall seat?

And, about the video that you shared, I've got aware as many times before, that my left leg is not stable as right. That is basicly the reason why am I doing these exercise from time to time. But sometimes I just forget

Yeah the wall seat is awesome for developing strength. I do a lot of cycling and noticed a big improvement in my hill climbing after doing about a month of nightly wall seat exercises.
Regards @run.vince.run

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64854.61
ETH 3478.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52