20k training W9: the pain is back (RunForSteem)

in #running6 years ago

After a great week comes the bad one. It was a bad running week for me with only one run because of my hurting leg.

The pain came few weeks ago. At the time I just skipped a session to rest a little. Two weeks after that, I skipped again a session because of the same problem. But this week was worth than that!

It was strange because I did a big and great run on Sunday but on Monday and the day after that, I felt nothing. I had to run on Wednesday but when I woke up, my leg was hurting more than the previous times (even when doing nothing). The feeling was also different and I, of course, decided not to run. I put ice twice a day again and I felt better on Friday. Nevertheless, because the pain was stronger than the previous times, I decided not to run again.

I almost feel nothing anymore so I ran this morning. I didn't want to put too much pressure on it so I just did an endurance run of approximately 9 km. The purpose was also to see if the pain comes back or not.

It's been almost 7 hours since the end of my run and I still don't feel any pain. But I know pain can come the next day so I don't make any projection.

I don't exactly know what I'm going to do for the rest of my training (3 weeks left) but I think I will continue but not at the same intensity. Maybe I will do two sessions a week instead of three. I will see with the evolution of the pain.

If you have advice, feel free to share them in the comments ;)

Here is my Strava run. As you can see, even with a week of inactivity, my pace was still good (and with a low heart rate).
Capture d’écran 2018-05-06 à 16.18.59.png
Capture d’écran 2018-05-06 à 16.19.20.png

Check the Steem Running Project and the RunForSteem Challenge if you are interested in running.

Sort:  

Keep the three days of running plan but reduce the intensity and the volume. That’s my advice...
If you don’t improve your injure then stop running for a week or so...

Thank you for your advice. When you say reduce the volume you mean I do one less repetition? Or I do shorter repetitions?

Doing less volume means less km
If to do so you need to reduce the number of repetitions or intervals then do it 😉

Ok, thank you for all the advice you gave me :)

I would also significantly reduce the intensity and in particular no longer do intervals or tempo training. If the pain does not get worse, I would gradually extend the running distances at low intensity. This will increase your endurance without putting too much strain on your leg.

Thank you for your advice! Everyone seems to say the same thing so I will do that for the rest of my training :)

Listen to your body and you’ll be fine. I’d go for only low intensity from now til the race. You’re young, you’ll bounce back fast.

Thank you for your advice. You are right, the most important thing is to listen to our body!

What kind of leg pain do you have? I think I have shin splints in my upper leg and it also keeps coming back. I am not ready to stay completely off running so I am sneaking here for tips from the others.

I didn't know this name but after checking on Wikipedia I can say that this is what I have. I used to call that periostitis. Personally I put ice once or twice a day. It helps a lot!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by RomainCrx from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Did you miss your run. It's not too late... go and run!


Source for gif
Vote for your running author of the week 15!
Resteemed by @runningproject

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64198.11
ETH 2759.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66