10K training run W8D1 (fiftyrunstillmay 9/50 & Run for Steem)

in #running6 years ago

Start of the 8th week today with a short fartlek. The time is running fast, it's been almost 2 months since the beginning of my training!

After my test on 10K this weekend, no time to rest! Today was a hard fartlek and here is the detail:
30' of warm up, then 3 series of 7 times 15"/15" with the first 15" at fast pace (normally 3'36"/km but it's difficult to do this precise pace in a short time like that) and 4' rest between the series. I finished my session by 10' of cool down.

As soon as I saw the plan of the session I knew this was a hard one. Moreover, it was very windy this morning and it was really hard with the wind in the face (I did one interval of 15" at a 4'05"/km pace but I had the impression to be at full speed).

This is my Strava session (I didn't put my intervals because it's quite useless with this kind of session):
Capture d’écran 2017-12-12 à 13.04.45.png
Capture d’écran 2017-12-12 à 13.04.59.png

I'm glad I no longer feel pain in my ankle and I hope it stays that way!

Sort:  

Fartlek is the way!!!!
Keep on running!

Good on you. it's the hard workouts that make the difference.

Yes true and I saw it with my test on 10K this weekend!

Good luck! Now can you explain a novice what a fartlek is? When I read it at Eddie's posts I thought it was a place lmao

I'm not an expert but I can try to explain it with my own words. A fartlek run is just a run with a combination of fast and slow run. In this case it was 15" fast and then 15" slow but it can be 40"/40" of even long fartlek like 1 km at a fast pace and then an active rest of 2 or 3 minutes.
And I just looked on Wikipedia and apparently fartlek means speed play in Swedish!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @romaincrx to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60682.45
ETH 2903.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54