10K training run W11D3 (fiftyrunstillmay 20/50 & #RunforSteem)

in #running7 years ago (edited)

I'm almost at the end of my training. Next weekend I have to do my 10K and see if I can do it in less than 40'. So today I finished my week with a long fartlek, it was the last one!

But first, I need to show you my new shoes. It's the New Balance FuelCore Rush V3. I bought them at only 45€ instead of 90€ (I love sales!). Before buying them, I read that they are made for the road and speedy training (or race) because they are light (250 grams in size 43). I also read that they have a good dynamism but less cushioning (good for light runners like me).

IMG_2597.JPG

And because it was very cheap, I bought another pair, more multipurpose so that I can do runs in the wood etc. I will talk about them in another post.

Now, the training. It was composed of:

  • 25' of endurance warm-up
  • 5x4' at a 3'54"/km pace with 2' rest between
  • 10' of cool down

On the paper, it looks like a hard training. 4' is very long (a bit more than 1 km in my case) and the rest is short. But it's logical since it's the last long fartlek before my 10K run! I managed to do the first four times and the last one was a mistake. I don't know why but I thought the fourth one was the last so I walked after it. I saw that I did a mistake only 30" later. So this is why I didn't manage to maintain the pace.

Capture d’écran 2018-01-07 à 13.38.42.png
Capture d’écran 2018-01-07 à 13.38.54.png
IMG_2598.jpg

It's hard to say if the shoes are nice after one run but I can say that I didn't feel any pain during the run. And I can feel the lightness of them which is really nice.

You can participate to the Run For Steem Challenge here

Sort:  

Are you sure you are going to wear new shoes during a race? ;)

@pgarama is right, don't use them in the race unless you have tried them for a few dozens of km before.
Injures are always in this kind of details :-)

Yeah I know that's not optimal but I don't really have the choice. I flew in another city yesterday and I didn't have enough room in my bag to take 2 pairs of shoes. But my 10k race is not really a race. I'll do it alone by myself and I think I'll have less pressure.

Hi dude!
Good training, look this is more an interval training than a fartlek.
Very well performed btw
Keep on running!

Thank you for the info ;) I don't really know the correct running terms so that's good when someone corrects me.

The shoes look super light. Have fun on your run, Looks like people will need to set their camera exposures to very fast to get a glimpse of you.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62907.89
ETH 3379.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50