Week 5, Session Two: 10 mile general aerobic run

in #running3 years ago

Tuesday, June 15, 2021
Orlando, Florida
76 degrees Farenheit (24.4C), 97% humidity, rainy
39 days to Red Top Roaster race

Today's run was 10 miles (16 km) at an average pace of 7:50 per mile (4:52 per km). I am traveling with my son in Florida, so I was exploring a new loop. I was also breaking in my new ASICS Novablast Tokyos:

I made the 10 mile loop using Strava. I'm staying in a touristy part of Orlando, so there were plenty of decent sidewalks, but also a fair amount of waiting at major traffic intersections. I did locate a nice quiet stretch for an interval workout tomorrow. I also couldn't resist taking a pic with this Ferris wheel:



Although I am currently training for the 8.85 mile trail race in July, my long term goal is to run a sub 3 hour marathon this year. I am registered for the Kiawah Island marathon in December 2021 and I will begin a marathon specific training block after the trail race. I only started training seriously in March 2020 when a couple of factors steered me in that direction. First, I was intrigued by Eliud Kipchoge's sub 2 hour marathon run. Second, the world was on lock due to the pandemic and I was itching to get out of the house to do something, anything. Finally, I was experiencing some type of midlife crisis that compelled me to take on some new type of challenge. Running seemed like a logical way to get out of the house for a while, stay fit, and challenge myself to learn more about a sport that I had largely ignored my entire life. I started with a few short runs and gradually built up to about 30 miles (48 km) then 50 miles (80 km) per week. The next natural step seemed to be training for a marathon, so I picked up Pete Pfitzinger's book Advanced Marathoning and started to dig into the details of how to train properly. Things went pretty smoothly, but I was not accounting for the fact that there would be no marathons to run in person any time soon. After several heartbreaks, cancellations, and reschedulings, I ended up running the Charleston Marathon virtually in January 2021. I set up my own 2 mile loop so I could have an aid station clocked a time of 3:13:40, slightly faster than my goal of 3:15:00. I followed that with a time of 1:28:43 at the Sweetgrass half marathon in May 2021. I feel like things are on track, I just need to keep dialed in with my nutrition and training in order to reach my goal in December.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60023.73
ETH 3191.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45