The Joys of Spring Running

in #running6 years ago
Happy Friday everyone!  I think we are truly into the warmer weather around here, so the last few days have been quite fantastic to get outside.  The pollen of course is quite terrible, as usual.  I'll suffer some itchy eyes and other temporary ill effects to enjoy this fleeting time before summer hits full force, though. ;)


Spring really is such a magical time if you take care to notice all of the small changes as life seems to begin fresh after winter's slumber.  My feed has been full of stunning photos of flower buds and vibrant green trees coming to life.  I went for a 10.5-mile run Wednesday morning and kind of kicked myself for not bringing my phone with me.  Inspired by one of @chelsea88's latest running posts at a park near her, I finally had the chance to make it back over to the Chattahoochee Nature Preserve for part of my run.  It was so beautiful to see everything down by the river, especially since the time of day I went was pretty quiet as far as foot traffic.  Though I can't share any of those specific scenes with you, Mother Nature gave me a great consolation prize this morning when I looked out of the window after doing yoga.



Nope, not talking about the decrepit grill that @dksart is figuring out what to do with.  Look a little further.  Into the neighbor's yard...



The deer are back! Sorry the photos are not the best--I was trying not to scare them away!  We haven't seen them in quite some time, but there is a family of deer that lives in the woods behind our house.  People have been back in the woods clearing out the brush the last few months (not sure what they are doing yet), so I was afraid they might have scared them off.  Apparently not because as far as I could tell I counted 7 of the lovely creatures.  They were eating the bushes in the neighbor's yard and the little ones were dashing around playing.  I just stood on the porch enthralled for at least 15 minutes watching them.

It really is so easy to get caught up in the day-to-day grind of living, and just the same holds true for running.  I know I sometimes get out and just duck my head to get in the miles.  Having a little reminder from time to time to just stop and take in a small piece of joy in your day is a wonderful thing.  Wherever you are today, try to take a moment out in nature to just be.  You may just find that bit of joy sticks with you throughout the day.



Though some of my run was on the streets to get to the trail, I still tried to stay in the moment and just enjoy the time on my feet.  I opted not to use my heart rate monitor again so I could just go by feel and not worry too much about metrics.  I am planning on this being my last double digit run before my race in 2 weeks.  Since I wasn't throwing in any speed work this time around, I wanted to keep a fairly easy pace the whole way.



I can tell the benefit of having done one half already this season (meaning my build up to this next race was longer), as my longer runs are feeling much more enjoyable than a few months ago.  Don't get me wrong, I was still whipped later in the day.  The run itself just felt good.  The pace was pretty steady throughout.  I hit a few hills in the last few miles, so it slowed appropriately to keep my effort the same.  My legs and hips feel solid, and mentally I was in a happy place with all of the lovely scenery around me.

I did a nice upper body workout yesterday to let my legs recover, then hit the yoga mat this morning to work on my mobility.  I'll probably get in a shorter run tomorrow and throw in a few downhill portions to keep my legs ready for race day.  I'm close enough now that I'm continuing to visualize success when the big day comes!  I've put in the work, so we shall see what I'm made of. ;)

Happy running!

Sort:  

Aww! I love deers! They are so cute! I guess you are lucky Katie, you 7 of them! Sometimes a squirrel visits me a sits in the flower pot I have outside in the fire scape!
Ps: keep up the good job dear!!!

They were so fun to watch bounding around the yard! Love getting little glimpses of nature like that. 😊

Love the photos, especially the first one where we're peeping through! Nothing like a beautiful spring day to uplift and get you in the mood for exercise!

It really is helping boost my mood. ;) I was so afraid they would spook, so I was trying to stay quiet and not move too quickly. None of the neighbors were out and Dave was still in bed, so I had the moment all to myself. Glad I got a few shots to share with you all!

I have a good feeling you're gonna win 1st place @plantstoplanks.

Haha, thanks. Not sure if I'm that fast, but as long as I feel good at the finish I'll count it as a win!

That's the spirit!!!

This post has been deemed resteem & upvote worthy by your @ecs (eastcoaststeem) community leaders @chelsea88 & @inthenow

Thanks for sharing!

Yey, we have a new Running Author of the Week!!!

**Look who won... who is Running Author of the Week 11?!
Resteemed by @runningproject

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67755.59
ETH 3831.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67