A Running Boost from Mother Nature

in #running6 years ago


This week I was set to start an early morning outdoor group fitness class at one of the local country clubs.  The club is only about 4 miles from my house, so it's kind of nice to be able to roll out of bed and get to my first appointment of the day so easily.  On days that I don't have any appointments right after, I may even be able to run there and back!  Like many new programs, I think this one may take a little while to get rolling as far as participation goes as I haven't had anyone come to class yet.  It probably doesn't help that it's the week of spring break here. ;)

While I was waiting on my first morning of class I was checking out the scenery.  I will mostly be teaching down at the tennis courts with access to part of the golf cart path if I want to throw in some running.  Right around the tennis courts is the main clubhouse, the pool, and a small section of the golf course.  As I was checking everything out for ideas on how to utilize my new domain I just happened to look up the sky and thought the view was so striking that I took out my phone to snap a picture.  The juxtaposition of the vibrant green landscaping and the slowly emerging light in the sky was breathtaking.  Though I hope to get some participants soon so they don't cancel the class, I felt quite blessed to have that moment all to myself.

My last few runs have been a little lackluster, but having this early morning touch of beauty put some fire back in my britches to get out later in the morning to put in the work.  It's easy to get caught up in the day-to-day grind and forget about what we really want out of life.  I want to continue to improve in my distance running, so by golly I'm trying to put in the training.  After a very easy run on Sunday, I decided to go back to a run I did a few weeks ago with a combination of distance and late-stage speed work.



You can see my original stats here in one of my #runforsteem posts.  This time around I had thought it would be nice to get in my 5 miles then hit the track for the 800's, but the school track right near our house was locked.  I assumed it would be a great time since the kids are on spring break.  Wrong. ;)  Oh well, back up to the main route I went.  With my detour I tacked on about a mile, so I ended up with close to 9 miles total for the day as opposed to the 8 miles I got the last time I completed this workout.



Once again I was pretty happy with the consistency of my work intervals.  I was a few seconds slower per mile on average than my last training attempt, but it wasn't enough of a difference to be worrisome to me in any way--especially since I was doing it on a hilly route instead of on a flat track.  This was also the second run in a very long time that I actually broke out my heart rate strap for my Garmin.  I averaged in the mid 140 beats per minute range for the first part of my run, which I think is a pretty good rate for what I wanted out of that portion and to have enough in the tank to hit the second portion hard.



Then you can see my heart rate was bumped up a good bit for the interval portion of the run.  I was a little surprised that it didn't go higher in the later stages as I felt like I was pushing pretty hard.  To be fair, I haven't done any kind of max heart rate testing in quite a while so the 170's might very well be close to my threshold.  I'll have to play around with it some more, but for now it's just interesting to have another metric to analyze for my training effect.



I had a rest day the day after this run, then I had a solid strength workout yesterday.  Today I should have time for another shorter easy run this afternoon in between sessions.  I think I need to get at least one more double digit long run in and a few more speed sessions before the race, which is now only three weeks away!  For you folks who actually read my posts, I may have a fun little contest coming up--so stay tuned! ;)

I hope you all find some epiphany moments in your week to keep you motivated no matter what your goals are!

Sort:  

I used to do a contest as well before the race...
Curious to see yours

Since you took the time to read and comment, I'll give you a heads up (and anyone else who reads the comments). It may very well be the same as what you have done in the past, just going to give out some prizes who gets closest to guessing my finish time. Nothing fancy, but I thought it would be fun to try to get a little more engagement with my running posts and maybe get a few more people checking out the @runningproject as I'll make sure to put in a plug. I'll probably put out the contest post a week or so out from the race.

Nice idea and beautiful sunrise.

Thanks! Should be fun to see how close everyone gets. 😉

Beautiful photo! Hope you get some pupils soon so you get to see the scenery in different lights!

Thank you so much! I do hope so!

You are doing extremely well my Dear, keep it up. And u know how much I love that sunrise photo 💖😊💖

Thank you my friend!! It was too neat of a capture not to share with my Steemit buddies, too! 😊

I am glad you did 🌸💖🌸

Such nice scenery almost looks like a painting. Good job on t'he run too;)

Thanks! Feeling solid as I get closer to race day. I did a nice 30-minute yoga session this morning to try to balance out my training!

When is your race again? Also yoga is great!

April 28th! I keep trying to make yoga more of a habit because it really does help my ridiculously tight hips.

Just a bit before mine. :)

Well done Katie! I love the photography!

Thank you friend! It was a truly beautiful start to the day!

Well done! Good pace today! And oh my, that sky and landscape. I love running when the sun is coming up and the moon is still behind you...so special!

Thank you! It's hard to get up sometimes when the bed is so warm and cozy, but it sure is worth it to see the start of a brand new day!

“Dwell on the beauty of life. Watch the stars, and see yourself running with them.”
― Marcus Aurelius, Meditations

Resteemed by @runningproject

Kind reminder:

Vote for your Running Author of the Week 10!

Nice to run early in the day I always find it difficult to get moving and procrastinate sometimes until the last hour of daylight.

It is hard to get going sometimes. I always feel better on morning runs, though once I get moving. I did a quick run at 4:30 this afternoon and I felt like I was dragging! Gotta get it in when you can depending on the day. 😀

Yeh if your legs are tired it can be like that.

Good work with running and I love nature. I need to start running too. I love my garden. Love what you do. Thanks for sharing, hehe. I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold. You can call me Joey.

Thanks! Nothing like running out in the beautiful scenery nature provides.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55789.30
ETH 2345.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31