Data & Running!

in #running6 years ago

Data & Running!

Got a nice 13.38 mile in before it started to rain- I don't think I'll be able to run much this weekend, so I'm trying to up my mileage during the week.

Screen Shot 2018-05-23 at 10.17.03 PM.png

I'm almost done with 'The Subtle Art of Not Giving a Fuck', and am really enjoying it. It's a fun audiobook to run to, because it's so captivating. One of the quotes that stuck with me today:

“You are already choosing, in every moment of every day, what to give a fuck about, so change is as simple as choosing to give a fuck about something else.”

Love it.

I just found out MapMyRun allows you to download all of your workout history! I threw it into Python and made a quick graph showing my runs over time.

IMG_1418.JPG

It's so cool to be able to see the progress/increase in mileage over time.

I really love the amount of data about ourselves that we have access to. We had to learn about our grandparent's lives from sifting through their belongings to see what they cared about enough to keep. Our grandkids will be able to see the story of our lives through the 1s and 0s we leave behind.

I do think it is scary too, and corporations trying to predict (and doing a damn good job at it) what we want to buy, who we want to follow and how we see ourselves is getting crazy.

The next twenty years are going to be insane.

Keep running!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61740.86
ETH 3453.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51