Went for a run last night and pleasantly surprised!

in #running6 years ago (edited)

I made it out for a run last night during my night shift and I was quite surprised to knock off a pretty damn good pace!

I was surprised since I've once again taken a few weeks (maybe more) between runs, it was hard up north with the weather being colder than I prepared for and also that i was pretty much on call everyday so I couldn't really be away from the clinic.

Back to last night. I was able to run my first 3 kms well under a 6 min pace of 5:06, 5:43 and 5:50, which was an average pace over the period of around 5:30, and the amazing part was I felt pretty good about it. My 4th Km wasn't even that far off 6:01 km, and at the 5 km mark my overall average was around 5:49/km. It's been along time since I've been under that 6 min pace mark actually.

image.png

The one thing that I did do when I was up north though that likely helped a lot was drop almost 10 lbs. I can only imagine just how much of a difference that makes over a run. I could imagine your body would be much less fatigued and your endurance would improve.

I'm also really loving importing all my data into Runalyze, it's such a great service for analyzing and tracking the data. I'm loving the fact you can review your pace at any moment and the cumulative average over the entire run. I was surprised to see that my sprint at the end of my run was actually a decent sprint pace and often I'm so gassed I feel like I'm sprinting by barely making a 5min/km pace.

pace.png

Now that I know I am able to follow my pace more closely I'm excited to get out there and challenge my own sprint paces a little bit more.

Sort:  

Yay for pleasant surprises! Totally understand not wanting to run when it's cold and it doesn't get remotely as cold here as it does there XD

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Glad to read you are doing so well With your running and health 😉...
Aerobical capacity is directly proportional to your total mass so it makes sense

Good runnin' dude! Glad you like Runalyze. It's an awesome tool.

Hi @phelimint!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.678 which ranks you at #1517 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 28 places in the last three days (old rank 1545).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 278 contributions, your post is ranked at #55.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

No need to be a masochist to run well... but a bit of pain could make you stronger. ;)
@amico

Resteemed by @runningproject

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97