You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Tip Track Marathon 2018

in #running6 years ago

How long have you been trail running for? I've only ever done races through town, (so typically running on pavement or something urban like a wooden boardwalk). I'd be interested to try doing a 10km or half-marathon trail race -- but I don't know if I would have the mental strength / stamina to do up & down laps like what you did here. Well done!

Sort:  

I've only been running since January 2017. So not very long at all :-)

The only way to know of you have the mental strength to to a 10k or half-marathon is to do it! :-)

Get a copy of our very own @dragosroua's book - Running for my life on Amazon and read it. It goes into his struggles with the mental side of running and gives some really good strategies for breaking through barriers and keeping on going. it's a really good read.

My biggest bit of advice would be to just give it a go, and don't put any pressure on yourself. Use the first few events to learn. And there is so much to learn! focus on learning and growing as a runner and each race is a victory.

You have a good start already, having been in a few races, so it should be a lot easier for you than it was for me (you are also probably a lot more sensible then me hehe).

For me the mental strength is never a problem, it's my body that can't keep up with what my mind wants it to do ;-)

Ahaha yes -- learning to listen to your body is huge. If the body is screaming and aching, it's best to slow down and listen!

I should start doing a bit of training of trails -- it looks like a good time. One of my coworkers wants to do a trail series in the spring, so I've got no excuses now.

so if you have no excuses..... get out on the trails and have fun hehehe.

Take you time. It's all about enjoying the experience as opposed to getting fast times and crushing it.

You'll get faster as you gain experience. Be ready for some stiff and sore legs after the first few runs though ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64222.70
ETH 2651.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77