Weekend race recap and actifit summary

in #running6 years ago

This weekend I participated in my first vertical race ever. It took place in Oslo and is 400 m elevation in 3 km. Perhaps not much for experienced vertical runners, but for me it was hard enough.

There were over 3000 people participating so I was in Oslo a few hours before to be sure that I had time to stand in line for a bus. The race started at 2 pm so it was not too bad. It was really cold though, I think the temperature was around 8 degC, but with a wind it felt a lot colder. I ran around to warm up, handed in my bag and suddenly the crowd went off. Since it was my first vertical race I did not really know what to expect and entered a non-competitive class, but I soon realized that I had to zig-zag my way up between all the people walking it for fun. (Note to self: try a competitive class next year, they start later and there is a lot less people in the slope). Here is a picture from the start line:


IMG-5788.JPG

Here is the Strava profile of the race:

IMG-5831.PNG

Despite some rough minutes up that hill it did not take me long afterwards to feel that this was fun and must be done again.


IMG-5798.jpg

I include the actifit history of the day as well, despite being a few days late.


IMG-5832.PNG

Sort:  

Hey, this is a fantastic achievement. Congratulations and respect!

Looks like we have a next runner of the week winner here :)

Isn't it so, @runningproject?

Do we have a deal for the next year? You run Planica and I run Oslo. Or vice versa.

What a cool race! So steep but beautiful surroundings. :)

Yes, it is beautiful. You should make a note for next August :)

I was there a day after the event and it got me thinking - why shouldn't I join next year. So I will!

@marenontherun, I gave you a vote!
If you follow me, I will also follow you in return!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60860.14
ETH 2960.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61