I don't get it

in #running5 years ago

Screen Shot 2019-03-23 at 12.56.27.png

I've learned so much in the last nine months since I started running and the main thing is to trust my body and not to trust my thinking.

Today I was sure I'd run appallingly. At the midway point I thought I was ready to stop. I thought my legs were telling me that they couldn't go on. I was quite certain that I was running at the sort of pace I was at when I first ran for more than twenty minutes and that I should give up rather than the shame of finishing so badly.

In fact, my legs could go on and so could my heart and my lungs and they did get me round again and I was only about 20 seconds slower than last week, but my head was telling me all sorts of shit, pretty much all the way.

Shut up!

Sort:  

I'm jealous. I think my running days are over. I was up to 30 miles a week before I got this job. Now I'm walking a ton and on my feet all day (so no lack of exercise) but me knees are really bothering me and I'm a little concerned because I really do need them for work.

Just take it slowly, and at the first home of any kind of injury, back off.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sorry to hear about your knees! and thanks, I'm learning to distinguish between the mental "pain" of thinking I can't go on (which I can push through) and the physical twinges and occasional ouchies that mean stop, rest a while, spend more time with your foam roller, Lloyd.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62984.76
ETH 2472.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55