WALK: A JOURNEY OF INSPIRATION & HOPE- DAY 1

in #running6 years ago

20180524_210133.jpg20180524_211115.jpg

I am currently unable to find a way to share my video on the day of my producer, screenwriting partner Missy Goodman and myself walking our first walk in our training for the Louisville Half-Marathon but these are images from our day out walking. Those shoes are my version of high end shopping. When I train to walk a race I always go to Swag's Sports Shoes. Some some say I want a Michael Kors shoe. Not me, show me to the nearest running expert with the highest quality sneakers.

Allow me to say I believe in LSD in copious amounts. To those not associated with John Bingham LSD for these purposes mean, long slow distance. I haven't trained in a very long time. In fact I've only done one half marathon since my bipolar diagnosis 19 years ago.

Truthfully I love to watch marathons from start to finish. Some people who don't share my love of running say nothing is happening. But clearly they've never been in distance race. In a marathon, or in this case, the half marathon there is so much drama going on in different portions of the pack.

In the front of course, are the contenders. They're like gazelles, their form is elegant, you don't really hear them at all. You might hear the wind whipping around them. Then the mid-pack comes they're there to set personal bests. And their form is a little less sloppy and every now and again they will make their play for front. Then there's me and Missy bringing up the rear. We are overweight, dealing with emotional traumas and it's just proving to ourselves that we can, ala Rocky, go the distance.

Our first walk was today. It was too hot but it was uncomfortable. We walked for 15minutes. Then went to Swag's where we bought walking shoes to train in and I secured an interview with Swag Hartel a local legend and running champion originally from England who now lives in Louisville, KY. We had lunch then got pedicures.

A much needed break. I will be heading out in the morning to do a 30 minute walk. I will get video of my time there. Although I'm not sure of the quality it will be. The first serious test of our physical mettle is the race highlighted in the entry form, the Midnight Climb. Where you walk straight uphill for 3.5 miles in Iroquois Park. Truth be told it might be a serious gut for us. I hate hills. Of course the scenery is lovely and since the race is conducted at Midnight I'm sure me and Missy will be bringing up the rear of the pack on that one too.

It was a lovely day. And I'll get more into the why this documentary than any other one at this time in later posts. Until we meet again. Happy running, happy writing and happy creating!

Sort:  

@lettersgrrl, I gave you an upvote on your first post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return!

Please also take a moment to read this post regarding bad behavior on Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60842.02
ETH 2699.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44