Fuji 5Lakes Ultramarathon Training Blog - Feb 5th, 2018

in #running7 years ago

Training regimen in place. Road to Fuji commenceth!

Tonight's run: 5 miles

Conditions: Intermittent falling snow, snow drifts, icy roads.


In tonight's video I talk about my basic training regimen/plan from here on out, Ultramarathons, fellow Steemian runners, and the plan for posting this blog up until the big day of the marathon!

Song to accompany this run: https://soundcloud.com/constellationtatsu/curved-light-aurora

Thanks for stopping by!

~KafkA

!


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as DTube and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

That’s awesome, Graham!

For the snow and ice, have you considered cramp-ons?

If you’re interested in unsolicited advice... 😉

  • You need rest days! Recovery is the most important part of training.
  • To that end, you should have a strap back week every 3 weeks.
  • Vary it up with one speed workout a week (indoor track nearby?).
  • If you don’t have trails nearby, work in a run of hill repeats once a week.
  • Back-to-back long runs are recommended for 50-milers and above.
  • You’re long runs don’t need to get above 20-22 miles for a 50K. (What distance is your race?)

And remember: Ultras are eating and drinking competitions with some running and scenery thrown in.

Hey, @dlew. Thanks for this!

I’m gonna look into everything you mentioned here. What a useful comment!

The race I’m running is actually 73 miles, so yeah, that’s why I mentioned back-to-backs in the vid.

And...cramp-ons? Are these cleats or spikes of some sort? I’ll check it out.

Thanks for the tips. Looking forward to following your blog here!

As for the last piece of advice/tip, I love it!!! :)

I started running late in life and went couch-to-50K in about a year so I soaked up every bit of advice I could. And I was fortunate to find a couple of amazing coaches and a welcoming trail running club.

I stopped myself from inundating you with too much. If you like, I can keep commenting on your posts with tips.

What’s the farthest you’ve run?

Awesome man. Couch to 50K is no small feat. Good on ya!

Farthest I’ve run is a full marathon, which I did back in October.

Any and all advice is appreciated!

Thanks!

WOW... that's an ambitious goal you set out. Marathons (which I have yet to run) and ultras are different beasts.

As far as your planning goes, taper the 2 weeks before your race. Tapering is critical... and everyone hates it.

Have you read up on drop bags?

No more ambitious than going couch to ultra, right? ;)

Yeah, marathon training usually includes a taper down as well.

Sounds a bit similar to my conditions yesterday

Yeah? Kick ass. Something about getting out there anyway is pretty invigorating, isn't it?

when you have the goal in sight , nothing can stop you, train hard for marathon is no joke , hope you finish in top position

OMG, you are wonderful and amazing, in the slippery iccy road and cold, it looks like cold movie. Really friend you are always optimistic and you have lots of energy to spread positive attitude towards people. You are my like as super hero, who has every time boost up my energy and positivity. Thanks friend for the sweet post, which reveals the truth of success "If you possess strong will power, nothing is impossible " wish you a very happy time friend.

You obviously have to be in pretty good shape already to even attempt to try this most wintry of marathons. As for Mt. Fuji will it be even visible?

Well, the race is in April, so it won't be this bad then.

Damn man, proud of ya. This is tough.

Cheers brother.

you are a person who brave and stick to your establishment, I salute you
thanks @ kafkanarchy84

Kudos to you for training in those conditions mate.
Be careful dude.

thanks for your effort on trannning i appreciate it n also nice vedio.😊

Running good for health
Good video
Keep it up ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61869.35
ETH 2414.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63