Anything you learned by running?

in #running6 years ago

     

     img

I encourage job seekers to get physically active and recommend outdoor walking or running as a place to start.

A few ways that running helped me are:

1. I didn't/don't like to inconvenience people. If someone was walking slower than me, I used to slow my pace instead of interrupting them and asking to pass. Running helped me to get over this. If I was doing a great pace, I would say; "passing on your right" and run around them. That built up my confidence to stand up for myself & needs.

2. I don't like to look like I don't know what I am doing. I over-research things to avoid this. But running helped me to chill out. I run outside and some of my running outfits are ridiculous, but make sense technically. I'm not the fastest runner and instead of being embarrassed I think "I am making a positive choice. At least I am moving my body." 

3. It helps me face fear. I have urban woods by my house and although running magazines say women should run where they can be seen, no headphones, and change up your path. I don't listen. The monkey trails cannot be seen by the street, but I choose to run on them because I feel brave. 

     All of these help me to stand up taller in my professional life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63407.49
ETH 2645.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81