Birthday Hike with My Daughter (#FiftyRunsTillMay 2/50)

in #running7 years ago

Today is my birthday. As part of a tradition that dates way back to last year, my daughter took me on our annual hike. I’m not exactly sure why it can only happen I’ve a year, especially now that she hikes with her friends but I will enjoy every step of it every year.

(

I wasn’t sure if it would happen again or end after the first year. For those of you who do to follow Southern California weather, we have 4 season here: Earthquake, Fire, Mudslide, and Riot.



Last year, the month’s leading up to my birthday were record rains. That means great skiing at Mammoth. As it turns out, it also meant overgrown singletrack with lots of bees. Oops. She wasn’t pleased. Our fun hike that included an old Nazi camp (yes, really... in Los Angeles) and a staircase with 511 stairs.

Would she agree to go this year? Yes, and it was her idea!!! This year, we’ve had almost no rain and the Santa Ana winds which blow hot from the desert in September and October were in December and January. That meant fires. It also means we had clear aongletrack today. And I chose a trail that gets more hikers. It was Los Liones which has incredible views. It’s one of my favorite single tracks to run down (early on weekday morning, not on a weekend afternoon where it’s in the mid 70s in February).


We had a fantastic time. I think we’ll make it to a third year in this tradition before she heads to college.


Sort:  

Happy birthday !! And nice hike !

It was Los Liones which has incredible

Happy birthday Fellow runner!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61248.96
ETH 2375.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55