Aborted Due to Ankles (#FiftyRunsTillMay 4/50)

in #running6 years ago (edited)

7A3654DA-EC63-439D-A162-14D508E601F1.jpeg

Purpose: Aerobic run after meeting in Santa Monica to start filing in the grid above the cliffs.

Result: My ankles started hurting less than 1/2 a mile into the run. At first it felt like it could be from my switch to road. It’s possible I’ve ramped up mileage too fast (4-5 runs of ~5 miles each).


D484CD66-A616-43E6-8483-2D21F762912B.jpeg

Analysis: As I walked back, it felt more like my Achilles (make that plural... Achilleses?) which would point to my shoes. I’ve been wearing Altras for several months. I’ve felt like I’ve adjusted to them. They are zero-drop which means the Achilles’ tendons get stretched more.

Plan: I’m going to try running in my Hokas next run. They are maximal both in drop and cushion. They also have significantly more arch support which sometimes is good for my plantar fascia and sometimes sets them off.

Rule: Be a kind coach and don’t run when it’s a bad kind of hurt.

Request: If you have any thoughts on what else it could be or what I should be doing to work through this, please comment. Thanks!

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by dlew from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You got a 100.00% upvote as a Recovery Shot from @isotonic , currently working as a testing trial, courtesy of @dlew!


*Image from pngtree.com

@isotonic is the Bid Bot of the @runningproject community.
Earnings obtained by this bot, after paying to the delegators, are fully used to increase the SP of the @runningproject from which all affiliated members are benefited.
Check @runningproject posts in order to know further about.

This post has received a 2.93 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @dlew.

This post has received a 20.77 % upvote from @aksdwi thanks to: @dlew.

Sorry to hear you had to abort your run but sounds sensible. Almost all of my niggles have been as a result of footwear - either incorrect or worn out.

Like your "bad kind of hurt", I guide my runners similarly: If it's painful, rather than uncomfortable, then stop and rest!

Hope it recovers soon.

PS. Wow on the number of upvotes!

I don't get upset about these things anymore. I view it as part of my journey. Of course, if it is an extended injury, I have to admit those get me down.

I separate pain and soreness. I stop when there's pain (I didn't which led to worse plantar fasciitis than I should have had) and I miss the soreness of ramping up mileage.

As for the upvotes, I was surprised and wondered what happened. Since I believe in honesty and transparency I'll share what I figured out: that's how @smartsteem works. It controls the votes of individuals instead of controlling delegated SP. 😳

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63878.79
ETH 3133.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85