You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Daily run #651 [#runningproject & #runforsteem]

in #running7 years ago

Half marathon only.... Love it lol.

When I tell people "yeah I'm just doing the half" they usually look at me like I'm crazy. I've actually run more full than half marathons but I think the half is about my favorite distance race honestly. I don't know why I've run nearly twice as many marathons as I have half marathons. The recovery and training are both so much less of a commitment. They are also, as you said, good training for full marathons.

Sort:  

He he, yes, I know. the looks... And I do agree with you that it is much more pleasant and so much easier to prepare for half. It is possible that I will have to change my planned full marathon to half this time. I will decide in 2 weeks. If there will not be enough time to run distances, I will do 2 halves before summer.

Yeah I totally understand not wanting to run a full if you're not fully prepared. That's a seriously painful experience. Before my first marathon my longest run ever was 14 miles. I finished that first one but it hurt, it hurt some more, then it poured rain, it hurt even more (did I mention how bad it hurt?), and I finally finished. Then I slept for 16 hours straight and went to work the next morning. Ouch.

Thankfully I learned from it and trained longer before my 2nd one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60582.22
ETH 2368.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65