Saturday's Morning Run- Running Adventures Ep 5- The elusive 5 minutes GAPsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #running7 years ago (edited)

It was another rainy weekend morning today but I felt quite good and decided to work on my speed this run. The short term goal is to perform well in an upcoming race in January. It will be o trail running event in the forests near Cluj, and the distance will be around 15 km. I'm also thinking about training for the Cluj international marathon in April but I've not made my mind yet if I will take that step. I haven't ran a marathon before, only a half marathon. But I will come to a decision by the end of this month :)

Regarding this run I focused on improving my GAP. For those of you that don't know GAP means grade adjusted pace, practically giving you an idea how fast you would be if you were running on flat ground instead of up or downhill. I know that I can maintain 5 min/km on flat ground so I decided to pursue the equivalent of that when running on a gradient. And that basically means aiming for a 5 min/km GAP.  I didn't quite hit that consistently in this run, as you can see below, but I hit that 5 min/km more than half the run so it's a step in the right direction at least.

I spent an hour today looking at the map trying to find a new and exciting route for running. But I came up empty. Looks like tomorrow I'm doing a "hamster" in the park.  Stay tuned to find out what that's all about :)

Take care, 

Adrian

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing, enjoy the vote!

Thanks man, I appreciate it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63267.39
ETH 2572.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80